+ Reply to Thread
Page 15 of 26 FirstFirst ... 5 13 14 15 16 17 25 ... LastLast
Results 281 to 300 of 505

Thread: [Dies Irae: Stars and Stripes] Report thread

  1. #281
    the japanese CAGs are more effective? How so, do they actually sink alot of ships, just seem to never run out of ORG, or what?

    Also, I did some experimenting yesterday and discovered that a possible reason why my CAGs only seem to hit once for every 4 hours might be they ran out of ORG. Full ORG CAGs do alright against in terms of damage output, but they still only work well when its clear and sunny.

    Fun fact for this discussion: The number of carriers sunk from an air attack in open water is equal to the number of carriers sunk by submarines. Yet I have NEVER seen a submarine even hit a carrier in HOI3.

  2. #282
    Citizen Sarayakat's Avatar
    Hearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIDeus VultEuropa Universalis 3Divine Wind
    For the MotherlandGalactic AssaultHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the Throne
    Europa Universalis III: In NomineKing Arthur IILegioEU3 Napoleon's AmbitionVictoria: Revolutions
    Europa Universalis: RomeSemper FiSword of the StarsSword of the Stars IIVictoria 2
    Rome: Vae Victis500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Wretched hive of scum and villainy, USA
    Posts
    1,316
    I don't know if these bug have already been reported, but here goes...

    1. Shortly after exchanging military access with the UK I get a popup telling me that I have cancelled it. While the UK still has access to US bases I no longer have access to theirs. Requesting access anew is listed as "impossible"

    2. Low res pics for CAGs and artillery on the build screen (and I think the light tanks though I don't recall exactly).

    3. I had a crash yesterday in NOV of '41 just as I tried to save. I was in a limited war with JAP that they declared, a member of the Allies and at peace with GER. When I reloaded I was still allied with the UK, but had a truce with JAP. I will update this report if it happens again as I am upto May '41 in a new game.

    edit: Just defeated JAP while losing not more than 5 or 6 cruisers and 1 transport. As far as I can see there is nothing wrong with CAG balance.
    Last edited by Sarayakat; 02-04-2012 at 02:33.
    Hodor.

  3. #283
    Quote Originally Posted by corazhor View Post
    the japanese CAGs are more effective? How so, do they actually sink alot of ships, just seem to never run out of ORG, or what?

    Also, I did some experimenting yesterday and discovered that a possible reason why my CAGs only seem to hit once for every 4 hours might be they ran out of ORG. Full ORG CAGs do alright against in terms of damage output, but they still only work well when its clear and sunny.

    Fun fact for this discussion: The number of carriers sunk from an air attack in open water is equal to the number of carriers sunk by submarines. Yet I have NEVER seen a submarine even hit a carrier in HOI3.
    The JAP CAGs are definitely sinking more ships. May be a result of many things, better org, better attack, US ships inferior AA. Not sure but they are definitely sending quite a few of my ships to ocean floor. My personal opinion is the the Japanese CAGs are working almost as they should, and I don't expect US CAGs to be on par with the JAP ones in 1941, but I do expect that a total of 18 or so CAGs along with several Multi-Role squadrons should be able to sink quite a few Japanese ships in a 15 day time span. I'm running a test using a tech that I created that should bring US CAGs naval strike capabilities up quite a bit. I'll report back soon.

    I agree that especially when there are other engagements going on submarines should be able to do significant damage to surface ships. I'm sure that's for another mod or DLC as it would require significant work in balancing the game.


    Devildread,

    I hate to clog up the S&S report thread if this CAG difficulty that I am having is not a result of S&S. Could you please confirm if there is something in S&S that would drastically reduce US CAG effectiveness against Japanese naval forces? If not I create a new topic outside of your report thread.

    And thanks again for all of your effort to improve HoI3.

    Cheers,

  4. #284
    Is there an event in S&S that covers the Japanese occupation of French Indochina, or is it left up to the AI to outright conquer Indochina?

    Thanks,

  5. #285
    Major azedalis's Avatar
    67 games registered

    67

    Crusader Kings IICommander: Conquest of the AmericasDarkest HourDungeonlandEast India Company Collection
    Elven Legacy CollectionEuropa Universalis: ChroniclesEU3 CompleteFor The GloryGalactic Assault
    GettysburgHOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneImpireEuropa Universalis III: In Nomine
    Iron CrossKing Arthur IILead and GoldLegioThe Kings Crusade
    Lost Empire - ImmortalsMagickaMajesty 2March of the EaglesNaval War: Arctic Circle
    Penumbra - Black PlaguePirates of Black CoveVictoria: RevolutionsEuropa Universalis: RomeRome Gold
    SengokuShip Simulator ExtremesSword of the StarsSword of the Stars IISupreme Ruler 2020 Gold
    Supreme Ruler: Cold WarStarvoidThe Showdown EffectVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided
    Victoria II: Heart of DarknessRome: Vae VictisWarlock: Master of the ArcaneMount & Blade: With Fire and SwordWar of the Roses
    Pride of NationsRise of PrussiaKnights of Pen and Paper +1 Edition500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Wake Forest, NC
    Posts
    536
    I know my problem is not unique for DI:S&S, but I was hoping there was a good fix for it. Either I boost Japan and they take all of China in a year or I don't and they fail miserably with a stand still or losing everything. I know its hard to balance Japan and China right, but if you want to play a semi-historical game where Japan slowly takes over China, you can't. Also is there a fix for UK not building radar, Destroyers for bases is useless without UK having radar stations like they did historically. I know this mod is suppose to highlight USA, but its not fun if you can't play semi-historical if obvious faults are present. I know the radar should be able to be fixed if nothing else put a run of 10 radar stations in dover at least in the file for UK starting builds.

    Maybe I mean Eagle Squadron also...can't kill airplanes that I can't see.
    Last edited by azedalis; 03-04-2012 at 04:55.
    Ammerica and All the Troubles II AAR a Dies Irae: Stars and Stripes and FtML Comparison AAR
    http://forum.paradoxplaza.com/forum/...1#post13667536

  6. #286
    The UK does not build radars unfortunatly in any FTM inc the mods. I always
    suggest nomatter who you play, for fair play balance, to start as the UK (but
    DO NOT start the clock!) and build 10 radars in Dover as well as about 20
    convoys, then save and restart as the US (or in other games whatever country
    you have chosen). This will at least give the UK some eyes on the continent
    and help them defend themselves and if your playing SaS when you put a US
    Army in the UK when you join the war you can at least see whats happening
    in France. MAJOR oversite for Paradox on the UK AI.

  7. #287
    Second Lieutenant RSalins's Avatar
    Arsenal of DemocracyDarkest HourHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourSemper Fi
    Supreme Ruler: Cold WarVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness500k club

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Shannon, Illinois, United States
    Posts
    103
    Hoping for some help. Have been playing a campaign game for about a month and just now realized that I am unable to make Gen. Marshall Chief of Staff. I am now up to Nov. of '41 but really took notice of this after the '40 election. Was wondering why this was the case. IRL Marshall took over the job in Sept. '39.

    Also on a side note because of my interest I went to find the "Minister" file to view what was on going on with him but could not find the file. I assumed it would be under the "History" folder but was only able to find the "leader" file.

    Once again just a newbie looking for some info, if anyone can help.

    Thanks.

  8. #288
    Belligerent and numerous fiskbulle's Avatar
    Hearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonDarkest HourDeus VultVictoria: Revolutions500k club
    Europa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    258
    Maybe this has been mentioned, but I'm unable to attach my CAGs to newly built carriers. If I try to drag them in the tree the carriers are simply greyed out. Not sure if it's a bug really or if I'm just stupid. I don't play vanilla anymore, but I know it works there.

    I have the correct checksum btw. Thanks in advance for any information
    No!

  9. #289
    Major azedalis's Avatar
    67 games registered

    67

    Crusader Kings IICommander: Conquest of the AmericasDarkest HourDungeonlandEast India Company Collection
    Elven Legacy CollectionEuropa Universalis: ChroniclesEU3 CompleteFor The GloryGalactic Assault
    GettysburgHOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneImpireEuropa Universalis III: In Nomine
    Iron CrossKing Arthur IILead and GoldLegioThe Kings Crusade
    Lost Empire - ImmortalsMagickaMajesty 2March of the EaglesNaval War: Arctic Circle
    Penumbra - Black PlaguePirates of Black CoveVictoria: RevolutionsEuropa Universalis: RomeRome Gold
    SengokuShip Simulator ExtremesSword of the StarsSword of the Stars IISupreme Ruler 2020 Gold
    Supreme Ruler: Cold WarStarvoidThe Showdown EffectVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided
    Victoria II: Heart of DarknessRome: Vae VictisWarlock: Master of the ArcaneMount & Blade: With Fire and SwordWar of the Roses
    Pride of NationsRise of PrussiaKnights of Pen and Paper +1 Edition500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Wake Forest, NC
    Posts
    536
    One thing I know about carrier CAG units. You can only group them upto the number for which CV or CVL they will go on. So if you have more then one carrier make sure you group then for each ship. So if you have 4 CVs and 2 CVLs in a fleet group them in 4 2s and 2 1s and load the 2s first so that the 1s don't load on a CV.
    Ammerica and All the Troubles II AAR a Dies Irae: Stars and Stripes and FtML Comparison AAR
    http://forum.paradoxplaza.com/forum/...1#post13667536

  10. #290
    alternatively, you can leave them separated in groups of 1s. Remember, an air group doesn't need a leader, no leader is a perfect option for most CAGs. I do recommend at least one air leader per CTF though, otherwise you're missing out on the bonuses from a leader in all the air battles that CTF participates in.

  11. #291
    When I try to load my save game, there are no units on the map or in my production queues, anyone get this and know of a fix? Thanks for any help.

  12. #292
    Any rough time estimate on 1.2? (Days, weeks, months)

  13. #293
    I.C.E. Devildread's Avatar
    Darkest HourEU3 CompleteFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIMagicka
    Semper FiVictoria 2

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Montpellier, France
    Posts
    9,669
    Not until 3.06 ftm is out.

  14. #294
    you can 'fly' your CAGs onto carriers from airfields to the carrier or TF. simply click
    on the CAG and give it the order of 'attach to carrier' and give the point of movement
    the carrier or carrier TF.

  15. #295
    Ok thanks for the heads-up. I'll start up a new game in that case

  16. #296
    hi guys,

    i realize the AI are wasting away all the IC. Ger & Jap have 500+ IC put in production but they are not building anything at all. do you guys have the same prob as well?

    my Jap ai is getting own in mainland. even with the axis buffed up, jap are still being pushed back to manchuria. ohya, i didnt give the buff to allies.

  17. #297
    General LodovicoAriosto's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Liberec, Bohemia, Czechia
    Posts
    2,469
    Quote Originally Posted by kt.1031 View Post
    hi guys,

    i realize the AI are wasting away all the IC. Ger & Jap have 500+ IC put in production but they are not building anything at all. do you guys have the same prob as well?

    my Jap ai is getting own in mainland. even with the axis buffed up, jap are still being pushed back to manchuria. ohya, i didnt give the buff to allies.
    AI is not adapted properly to make use of artificial bonuses it receives. yeah, it is common.
    "None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free." - Goethe

  18. #298
    Major azedalis's Avatar
    67 games registered

    67

    Crusader Kings IICommander: Conquest of the AmericasDarkest HourDungeonlandEast India Company Collection
    Elven Legacy CollectionEuropa Universalis: ChroniclesEU3 CompleteFor The GloryGalactic Assault
    GettysburgHOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneImpireEuropa Universalis III: In Nomine
    Iron CrossKing Arthur IILead and GoldLegioThe Kings Crusade
    Lost Empire - ImmortalsMagickaMajesty 2March of the EaglesNaval War: Arctic Circle
    Penumbra - Black PlaguePirates of Black CoveVictoria: RevolutionsEuropa Universalis: RomeRome Gold
    SengokuShip Simulator ExtremesSword of the StarsSword of the Stars IISupreme Ruler 2020 Gold
    Supreme Ruler: Cold WarStarvoidThe Showdown EffectVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided
    Victoria II: Heart of DarknessRome: Vae VictisWarlock: Master of the ArcaneMount & Blade: With Fire and SwordWar of the Roses
    Pride of NationsRise of PrussiaKnights of Pen and Paper +1 Edition500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Wake Forest, NC
    Posts
    536
    Anyone interested in this mod probably should check out my AAR that I am doing. See my signature.
    Ammerica and All the Troubles II AAR a Dies Irae: Stars and Stripes and FtML Comparison AAR
    http://forum.paradoxplaza.com/forum/...1#post13667536

  19. #299
    Great game , I didnt think playing the US could be as entertaining as it was , couple of problems I had , first of all I was starting from 1936 and avoided war until around November 1941 when Japan declared war on me , depite all my effort I was not able to join the Allies by 1943 , this was inspite of my using both diplomacy and intellegence to move the US towards war with Germany , the mechanics of the game worked well , I conquared Japan by Spring of 1943 , however Japan continued to remain at War with me even though it was defeated ( some kind of glitch going on there ) Also it seemed like Germany was too weak , I noticed that the Soviet Union had nearly defeated Germany by Spring of 43 and this was without any US assitance. If I could offer a suggestion , seems to me that the US had 3 opportunties to enter into war prior to the attack on Pearl Harbor , the last opportuntiy that is not aparently represented in the game is the sinking of the USS Reuban James which happened in October of 41 , I think it might be both more realistic and enjoyable if the player that chooses to wait it out for Pearl Harbor attack faces the very real possibility that such an attack could destroy a large portion of the US Pacific fleet , the game should incorporate some type of Pearl Harbor event that has certain economic and manpower advantages but will result in damadge to your Pacific fleet , the damadge would by random and could range anywhere from minor to devastating , oh and finally I ended the game around Summer of 43 , wasnt much of a point continuing .
    Only the dead have seen the end of war.
    Plato

  20. #300

    day of infamy

    have anyone see it happen yet? i really need those 1000 men

+ Reply to Thread
Page 15 of 26 FirstFirst ... 5 13 14 15 16 17 25 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts