+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Title loss on succession?

  1. #1

    Title loss on succession?

    Hello again,

    I just conquered a county after manufacturing a claim. I got the warning message on top now that states 'Title Loss On Succession' for my new aquisition. Why is that? Why wouldn't my heir just inherit that title, just like my original county?

    Thanks

    Edit: Is it because with gavelkind the heir only gets the primary title? The new title would go to another son so the new dynasty head wouldn't have it?

  2. #2
    Tsar of all slavs palmus's Avatar
    HoI AnthologyCities in MotionCities in Motion 2Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis 3
    EU3 CompleteDivine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the Throne
    Europa Universalis III: In NomineMagickaEU3 Napoleon's AmbitionVictoria: RevolutionsSemper Fi
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessWarlock: Master of the ArcaneWar of the Roses
    CK2: Holy Knight500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Skövde, Sweden
    Posts
    838
    I am not 100% sure but isn't this when you have gavelkind? And then some of the titles will be inherited by your heirs siblings.
    1 Clerk
    Nationality: Swedish
    Religion: Atheist
    Ideology: Socialist
    Issues: State Capitalism/Full Citizenship
    Current Work: The Office
    Cash Reserves: 10£
    Revoltrisk: 0%
    Militancy: 1 (+3.00)
    Consciousness: 10 (+1.00)

  3. #3
    Captain Arimahn's Avatar
    CK2: Holy KnightEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Venerable Jena, Germany
    Posts
    318
    Gavelkind "splits" the realm on succession, meaning all possible heirs get counties and the appropriate claims handed to them once you die. This isn't actually that bad, unless you have more than one of your highest claims. For example if you happen to be King of France and Italy with gavelkind succession, one of your heirs will get to be King of Italy and the other King of France. If you only have one king title, one heir gets to be king and the others get to be dukes and thus his vassals. The same holds true for the duke -> count level, of course.

  4. #4
    On a related note...
    I just changed it to Primogeniture so I could have my ruler keep both titles. Of course that pissed off one of my sons. My current eldest son is kind of a bonehead. Is the only way to prevent him from inheriting the current ruler's titles to assassinate him (or get him killed in some other way)? What if I had the eldest son arrested? Would the next guy in line inherit the titles then? Is there any other way to make the eldest son not inherit with primogeniture?

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Captain Arimahn's Avatar
    CK2: Holy KnightEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Venerable Jena, Germany
    Posts
    318
    I think you can make him a bishop by giving him a church fief to govern, thus he won't inherit. This applies to the demo however, dunno if they changed it for the full game.

  6. #6
    Captain CirMag's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    414
    Quote Originally Posted by Arimahn View Post
    I think you can make him a bishop by giving him a church fief to govern, thus he won't inherit. This applies to the demo however, dunno if they changed it for the full game.
    Decided to test if that still applied. The button grays out, and the message "Cannot disinherit an heir by making him a bishop!" appears.
    Let's try the pointy explody thing.
    Missiles, they're called missiles.

  7. #7
    Second Lieutenant Peregrine's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteDivine WindHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the Throne
    Europa Universalis: Rome

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    191
    You can get the title loss on succession in other ways. I had a situation where my king's brother was ruling a duchy under me - he had no sons and his daughter was going to inherit. His other daughter was married off to a foreign count, and when he died, she became heir to a county. She was the count, but all her heirs were the sons she had with the foreign count so I got the warning that when the king died, the county would no longer be part of my kingdom. Also, for some reason, at that point I couldn't revoke her title!

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts