+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: FAQ & PDM Wiki -- READ HERE BEFORE POSTING

  1. #1
    Field Marshal Rylock's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDarkest HourEU3 CompleteDivine WindHearts of Iron III
    Heir to the ThroneVictoria 2

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, Canada
    Posts
    8,293

    Exclamation FAQ & PDM Wiki -- READ HERE BEFORE POSTING



    Introduction

    Don't let the name fool you -- while the "Pop Demand Mod" started out as a discussion of how to improve and balance Victoria II's economy, it grew into a full mod focused on making the economy work smoothly but with comprehensive coverage of other areas. It not only adjusts the economy and migration mechanics but also introduces a host of new decisions, events and mechanics suggested by a wide variety of players in this sub-forum – thus providing the mod's unofficial second name: "People's Democratic Mod". It's become something of an unofficial expansion pack, and one that is continually growing as more and more gets added into it. The goal is not to change vanilla Vicky unnecessarily, but to smooth the rough edges that players experience and create a working world economy and a rich historical context for both historically-minded and sandbox players.

    What is PoD? APD? Is that also PDM?

    PoD is "POPs of Darkness"-- it's PDM for the "Heart of Darkness" expansion (aka HOD). APD, meanwhile, is "A Pop Divided"-- it's PDM for the "A House Divided" expansion pack (aka AHD). If you have HOD then you already have AHD, and thus don't need to worry about APD.

    How does PDM differ from other major mods?

    Some mods, like VRRP, are designed to balance the economy but otherwise keep as close to Victoria II mechanics as possible without introducing new events. Others, like Divergences, opt for an "alternate timeline" approach and present an entirely new what-if world history. PDM opts to change only those mechanics we feel are necessary-- though sometimes in fundamental ways -- as well as including a host of new events. Our goal is not to force the world down a deterministic path so it aligns with actual history, but to set up events so such a path is at least possible and to otherwise ensure we include events which are historically plausible. If the player does nothing and just watches events unfold, things will tend to follow historical paths, but with ample room for divergences. Enabling players to pursue historical goals (or not) in a rich historical context is our guiding principle.

    You'll find that PDM is updated frequently. An update comes out roughly weekly - we tweak mechanics, include new events and fixes and put out a new version for players to test and give us feedback on, and then start the process all over again. This does mean that balance can vary quite a bit from one version to the next, but we like to get as much input as possible as we keep working to fine tune and improve the mod. That's just how we roll.

    Major PDM Features
    • Balanced and expanded economy with new and alternative production chains, including 16 new goods and over 20 additional factories
    • Modified POP behavior and domestic and foreign migration – more focus on available jobs and reforms and not just the presenece of “Democracy”
    • Entirely re-written promotion system, so that well-off pops promote and poor pops demote
    • Research point generation modified and balanced to emphasize literacy and clergy but factor in contributions from bureaucrats, capitalists, and clerks
    • Revised and rebalanced tech tree, with over 100 new inventions -- it allows viable alternative paths of development rather than favoring “super techs” and breaks technology rollouts down into smaller advances (e.g., there’s more than one way to get the minimum liferating you need after 1880)
    • More important role for National Focus
    • Completely reworked political system, leading to greater synergy between the Upper House and government
    • Revised rebels and revolutions, including event-based subsystems and "patriots" that reclaim territory
    • Revised military units (e.g., distinguishing professional regulars from colonial or mobilized reserve brigades) and military combat system, including terrain combat modifiers
    • Revised Casus Belli system and infamy costs, promoting sensible AI use of wargoals and making it impractical to swallow large uncivilized countries in a single bite
    • Great Wars & Infamy Wars, increasing the scope of late game wars
    • New unification mechanics for many cultural unions such as Germany, Italy, Arabia and Scandinavia to make these realistically achievable
    • Over 50 new countries exiting at-start or that can form during the game, including many from the New Nations Mod
    • Hundreds of new events and decisions, including the Taiping Rebellion, the Congress of Berlin, the Oriental Crisis, the British Dominions and the Boer Wars among many others

    Frequently-Asked Questions

    Can I use PDM as the base for my own mod?

    What version of PDM should I use?

    What is the Checksum?

    What is the Changelog thread for?

    How do I install and use APD/PDM?Some of the core systems in PDM are so different. How do I...
    Last edited by Rylock; 21-04-2013 at 19:28.

  2. #2
    Field Marshal Rylock's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDarkest HourEU3 CompleteDivine WindHearts of Iron III
    Heir to the ThroneVictoria 2

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, Canada
    Posts
    8,293
    There is now a PDM Wiki, located here.

    Please contribute to the Wiki!
    Last edited by Rylock; 30-03-2013 at 23:10.

  3. #3
    Field Marshal Rylock's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDarkest HourEU3 CompleteDivine WindHearts of Iron III
    Heir to the ThroneVictoria 2

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, Canada
    Posts
    8,293
    What version of APD/PDM Should I Use?

    If you have the "Heart of Darkness" expansion pack, you want to use HOD. The latest version of HOD will have a download/feedback thread stickied-- the download link is in the first post (as will any hotfix that's required). Use that thread to provide any feedback related specifically to issues with that version.

    If you don't have "Heart of Darkness", but do have the "A House Divided" expansion pack, then you'll want to use APD: the last and final version of APD is 3.2.9 and is located here.

    If you have neither expansion, you need to use regular PDM. The last version of PDM using the 1.4 beta patch is available here. The 1.4 beta patch (from Jan. 13th) can be acquired on the tech support forum (here) and is not yet publicly available (meaning if you're using Steam or any other source, it will come with the 1.3 patch-- you currently have to manually install 1.4 in order to get it).

    The last version of PDM for 1.3 was 3.1.1 -- available here.

    Note that there is no further development planned for APD or regular PDM (only for HOD), so reporting issues or making suggestions on earlier versions isn't necessary.

    Versions of HOD/APD/PDM are usually save game compatible (meaning you can apply a new version and continue to play a save game from a previous version) unless they are specifically noted otherwise.
    Last edited by Rylock; 21-04-2013 at 19:32.

  4. #4
    Field Marshal Rylock's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDarkest HourEU3 CompleteDivine WindHearts of Iron III
    Heir to the ThroneVictoria 2

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, Canada
    Posts
    8,293
    How Do I Install and Use APD/PDM?

    With AHD:

    With the expansion, the mod folder works as it should and thus became the primary means of using APD. When you download the mod's .rar file, you'll simply need to unzip it (all of it, including the .mod file) into the mod directory (located wherever you installed Victoria II). When you start the game, the launcher window should display the mod's name in the lower left-- check the box next to it and begin.

    You may see occasional references to "clearing the map cache". This is the folder that AHD sets up in your My Documents area (separate from where you installed Victoria II). It's where the game stores your saves and other information such as logs and map caches. To clear the map cache, just go into that folder and delete the entire "PDM/map" folder. You can, in fact, simply delete the PDM sub-folder itself (so long as you have no saves you wish to keep). The game rebuilds those files when you start up.

    Without AHD:

    If you don't have AHD, installation works differently. The only way to use PDM (for the 1.3 or 1.4 patch) is to extract it to your base Victoria II folder. It will overwrite everything, but don't worry about that-- it's supposed to. It's advisable that you create a copy of your base Victoria II folder first and keep it to one side for later use.



    Check the feedback thread for the version you downloaded to compare the checksum with the one your game produces (listed on the title screen). If your version is different, that likely means you either installed incorrectly or have some extra files in your Victoria II folders (not completely deleting files from previous mods before installing is a common mistake). It's always good to make sure your checksum is correct before reporting bugs.

  5. #5
    Field Marshal Rylock's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDarkest HourEU3 CompleteDivine WindHearts of Iron III
    Heir to the ThroneVictoria 2

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, Canada
    Posts
    8,293
    All my flags are showing up wrong! What do I do?

    The sequence of flags in Vic2 is procedurally generated. Often, if you update the countries.txt file without re-generating the flags, the game won't prompt itself to do so... so you'll get all-black or all-white flags, or even countries in the game all having the wrong flags. The way to fix this with AHD is to go into your My Documents\Paradox Interactive\Victoria II folder and find the PDM folder there. Delete the "gfx" folder entirely. That will force the game to re-generate the flags on next start-up.

    If you're not using AHD, go into your Victoria 2\gfx\flags folder. There you will find some text files which all start with "flagfiles"... delete them all and re-start the game. That should prompt those files to be re-generated.

  6. #6
    Field Marshal Rylock's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDarkest HourEU3 CompleteDivine WindHearts of Iron III
    Heir to the ThroneVictoria 2

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, Canada
    Posts
    8,293
    How do I colonize in APD? What techs do I need?

    In APD only, there are four inventions which reduce the minimum Life Rating for colonization:

    Prophylaxis Against Malaria (-5 LR)
    • Needs Medicine to discover at all
    • Base chance of discovery is 1%, Inorganic Chemistry will increase chance of discovery by 2%
    • once any GP has it, the chance of every other country discovering it increases 10%

    White Man's Burden (-10 LR)
    • Needs Ideological Thought to discover at all
    • Cannot be discovered prior to 1860
    • Base chance of discovery is 0%, increased 25% by Nationalism & Imperialsm and 25% by Market Regulations
    • once any GP has it, the chance of every other country discovering it increases 10%

    Indigenous Garrison (-5 LR)
    • Needs Breech-Loaded Rifles to discover at all
    • Cannot be discovered prior to 1880
    • Base chance of discovery is 0%, increased 25% by Machine Guns and 25% by Main Armament
    • once any GP has it, the chance of every other country discovering it increases 10%

    The Dark Continent (-5 LR)
    • Needs Nationalism & Imperialism to discover at all
    • Cannot be discovered prior to 1900
    • Base chance of discovery 0%, increased 20% by Biologism, 20% by Military Logistics and 20% by Steel Steamers
    • once any GP has it, the chance of every other country discovering it increases 10%

    tl;dr: In order to start the "Scramble for Africa", you'll need White Man's Burden and Indigenous Garrison... once the first GP gets it in the early 1880's, all the countries which are eligible will start to get the ability very quickly and the majority of colonizeable land will be available. After 1900, colonizing 10 LR places like Namibia and Papua New Guinea requires the Dark Continent. Again, once the first GP gets it everyone else will quickly follow suit.

  7. #7
    Field Marshal Rylock's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDarkest HourEU3 CompleteDivine WindHearts of Iron III
    Heir to the ThroneVictoria 2

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, Canada
    Posts
    8,293
    What is the Changelog thread for?

    The changelog thread (located here) is where Naselus includes the point-by-point list of all the changes which are in each version of PDM/APD. Note that he updates it as he's preparing the next version, before it's available for download. So don't ask why there's a changelog for a future version of the mod, as that's why.

  8. #8
    Field Marshal Rylock's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDarkest HourEU3 CompleteDivine WindHearts of Iron III
    Heir to the ThroneVictoria 2

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, Canada
    Posts
    8,293
    My game keeps crashing on startup, during the 'Initialising Maplogic' section.

    If you keep getting a crash on startup, occurring during the "Initalising Maplogic" section, and the popup you see reads:

    "Exception in : virtualfilesystem.cpp, line: 624. Description: the system can not find the file"

    Then chances are you're using Vista/Win7 and Steam, and you need to look here for a fix: http://forum.paradoxplaza.com/forum/...-624.-SOLUTION

    If that's not the issue, another thing to try would be to clear your map cache. With AHD, go to your My Documents\Paradox Interactive\Victoria II folder and find your "PDM" directory. Go in there and delete the "map" sub-folder entirely, then restart the game. Without AHD, go into your Victoria 2 folder (wherever you installed the game) and find your map directory. In there you'll see a "cache" sub-folder. Delete it entirely, then restart the game. In either case, this should make your cache re-generate.

  9. #9
    Field Marshal Rylock's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDarkest HourEU3 CompleteDivine WindHearts of Iron III
    Heir to the ThroneVictoria 2

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, Canada
    Posts
    8,293
    I can't declare war on someone!

    First, check what your government's war policy is. If your government is Pacifist, you'll find that your wargoals are very restricted... you'll only be able to use Free People and a small selection of other wargoals, at least when you're at peace. If you're already at war with someone, you'll have far more wargoals that you can add. Ultimately this means your ability to start a war is quite restricted.

    Another issue we encounter is people trying to declare war on Switzerland or as Switzerland. That country's a special case, as they have the "Neutrality" modifier. This means very few wargoals can be added on them (almost none at all, unless they're a GP or they have colonies) and they can't go to war almost at all without abandoning Neutrality first. This also means that, even if they get drawn into a war, they'll very likely drop out within a few days. That's just how they roll.
    Last edited by Rylock; 22-06-2013 at 08:15.

  10. #10
    Field Marshal Rylock's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDarkest HourEU3 CompleteDivine WindHearts of Iron III
    Heir to the ThroneVictoria 2

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, Canada
    Posts
    8,293
    Why is PDM/APD so slow? What can I do about it?

    The mod is a bear-- there's no single thing it does which reduces your game's performance, insomuch as it just adds so much: more country tags, more units, more pops, more events/decisions, etc. So if you're not using a high-end computer, chances are you're going to see a big hit on game speed. Efforts have already been made to optimize some of the game's features, and thus that's as fast as it's going to get... the only way to improve the performance further would be to strip out features, and that's not going to happen.

    Recommended system: 8gig of RAM and a 2.8 gig processor

    Other ways to increase performance:

    * the 2+ gig patch (which allows your system to use more than 2 gigs of active memory): Go here for instructions

    * the Untransparent Map Mod
    Last edited by Rylock; 04-04-2013 at 06:03.

  11. #11
    Field Marshal Rylock's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDarkest HourEU3 CompleteDivine WindHearts of Iron III
    Heir to the ThroneVictoria 2

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, Canada
    Posts
    8,293
    What is the Checksum?

    Whenever you boot up Vic2, once you get to the title screen (with the mod, it'll be the screen that has "Victoria II: Pop Demand Mod" on it) you'll see something down in the bottom left corner of the screen.

    It'll look something like "Victoria 2 v2.31 (CKBD)"

    The first part just tells you which version you're using... the above is the 2.31 patch for AHD. But you could have another version, based on whether you're using AHD or not. The four letter code in brackets is the checksum. That code is procedurally-generated, based on the sum total files you have in your Vic2 directory.

    What's it used for? Well, it allows you to check whether the files in your directory match up with everyone else's. If the mod says the checksum is BBDR, and you're getting CKBD... that means you have something wrong. You have an extra file somewhere, you've edited a file so it's longer/shorter, etc.

    CAUTION: One odd quirk of Vic2 is that the checksum will be different the second and subsequent time you boot it up. So whenever a mod lists a checksum, it's almost always based on the subsequent boots... so, after installing, it's best to load up the game, then quit out and load it up fresh again. That way you can check for sure.

    ANOTHER CAUTION: Still not getting the right checksum? Something of which to be careful is when you're using Steam. If you go into Steam and uninstall the game from there, it will not uninstall files which aren't part of vanilla Vic2! Meaning if you install the VRRP mod, which puts its files into your main Vic2 directory, and then you uninstall the game on Steam you won't end up with a fresh copy of Vic2. It will leave files specific to VRRP in there, and then you'll just reinstall Vic2 on top of them without re-writing. So if you're uninstalling with Steam, it's best to go afterwards and manually delete the Vic2 directory outright.

  12. #12
    Field Marshal Rylock's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDarkest HourEU3 CompleteDivine WindHearts of Iron III
    Heir to the ThroneVictoria 2

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, Canada
    Posts
    8,293
    Can I use PDM as the base for my own mod?

    You can. Look here for instructions from Naselus as to what you should do.

    If this is a "mod-mod", as in a mod that's just meant to alter some things in PDM and for use by PDM players, you can post your mod on this sub-forum. It may be considered for addition into PDM proper, but that will depend on whether a) it meshes well with the rest of the events, b) it's balanced and c) it works. The last point is important-- you need to test your mod, and make sure all your changes actually work. This means running your changes through the validator or event firing each event/decision manually to see if they function. Be aware that, if you alter any files that get changed on a regular basis in the main mod (such as the countries.txt file) you'll need to keep it updated or it'll quickly become obsolete. Up to you.

  13. #13
    Field Marshal Rylock's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDarkest HourEU3 CompleteDivine WindHearts of Iron III
    Heir to the ThroneVictoria 2

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, Canada
    Posts
    8,293
    How do Great Wars work in APD?

    There's a lot of confusion over how Great Wars work now-- for one main reason: the mini-mod Rylock made back before the AHD expansion came out was called "Great Wars for Vic2". It added a system which was meant to simulate Great Wars, making countries in the late game start calling on allies and gave them the ability to dismantle their opponents. And then AHD came out, and Paradox added its own Great War system... which meant people confuse what that system does with what Rylock added.

    So, to be clear:

    * Once Mass Politics is researched by anyone, the "Great War" functionality kicks in just as in vanilla. After that point, any war with more than one GP on each side is considered a Great War and results in all wargoals having their required warscore reduced. That's it.

    * APD has the Dismantle CB, available once a country has Mass Politics researched-- but otherwise having nothing to do with Great Wars. If that CB is successfully enforced (and only then-- prior to the expansion's release, a country that was very occupied could still end up dismantled even without the CB being enforced, but that's no longer the case), the target will get a treaty event which results in minors being forcibly released and all colonies given to others (among other things). The target has to be at peace in order for this event to fire.

    And that's it. The Dismantle CB is NOT the Great War system. Please don't confuse the two.

  14. #14
    Field Marshal Rylock's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDarkest HourEU3 CompleteDivine WindHearts of Iron III
    Heir to the ThroneVictoria 2

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, Canada
    Posts
    8,293
    My interface is becoming transparent, and other strangeness, prior to it eventually crashing...

    This is due to your computer running out of active memory. Yes, we understand that your computer may have plenty of active memory, but Vic2 only uses one gig of it unless you apply a patch to use more (go here for instructions on how to apply it). The Ultratransparent Mod also helps, if you're still experiencing problems. I assume part of this is also due to memory leaks by the Vic2 code, but there's nothing the mod can do about those... so it's not unlikely that, even with these fixes, you'll never experience the problem again. It just moderates them

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts