+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 24 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 467

Thread: Victoria II Random World Generator!

  1. #21
    Quote Originally Posted by Snoopy View Post
    Never mind. The generator itself worked fine, I hit enter, started a new game, and same error regarding countries/new south wales.txt

    Also something regarding line 425 in something.cpp
    "countries"/new south wales.txt? Weird, I don't think the names generator can ever generate that name. You're running the script on a modded Vic2? Let me know which mod and I'll take a look. If not, try reinstalling Vic2 and running the script on a clean Vic2 installation.

    Or, which is probly the issue, open Vic2/common/countries.txt, look for whatever line contains "new south wales", and delete it.

  2. #22
    Quote Originally Posted by Mitchmon View Post
    I have no Idea if this would be hard (prob) but could their be a way we could rename Proviences IG and even our Country :\ I hate to play as Balah the entire game.

    P.S. I know you can do this via menu I just think this would be cool and we could set our own goals on how a nation could be united, I dunno or even find a way to randomize this (which I think would be impossible but I dunno)
    Rename your country or province? It can't be done in game. You can however open Vic2/localisation/0random.csv with Notepad, and do a find/replace "Balah" for whatever you'd like.

  3. #23
    If anyone has played / is playing a game on a random world, please post your impressions. I'm writing an article "Randomizing Worlds for Strategy Game While Keeping Original Gameplay" (yeah long title) and would love to know what the community is thinking, maybe write about it on the Conclusion.

    Like, do you feel it added more variety to the game? Is the game enjoyable on the random world? Is there something important that present was on the original world and is absent on the random? Do you like the fact that the world is uneven (i.e. there are the superpowers, China's, factions with one province and 10k people, etc.)?

  4. #24
    Ok, this might sound like a dumb question but, why can't I download this from filesmelt? Everytime I click the name on the filesmelt it just opens another window with the same link and does nothing. What am I missing?

  5. #25
    Private fokan's Avatar
    Europa Universalis 3EU3 Napoleon's AmbitionVictoria 2

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Russia, Suojarvi
    Posts
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by m68135 View Post
    If anyone has played / is playing a game on a random world, please post your impressions.
    Okay, in my games almost all of civilized countries had democracy. Also I think that uncolonized provinces should be neighborhood to each other (my was spreading randomly apart in europe).
    I would watch for this mod, waiting for some balancing and other stuff like claims etc.
    Great work!

  6. #26
    Captain ODaly's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteDivine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron III
    Heir to the ThroneSemper FiVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Nebskies
    Posts
    481
    This looks ridiculously fun. I'll have to look into this once I finish up my current campaign.
    Type: Artisan
    Nationality: Yankee
    Religion: Protestant
    Ideology: Socialist
    Issues: Interventionism, Pacifism
    Cash Reserves: 0.01
    Needs Met: Life Needs 100%, Everyday Needs 40%, Luxury Needs 0%

  7. #27
    Quote Originally Posted by medopu View Post
    Ok, this might sound like a dumb question but, why can't I download this from filesmelt? Everytime I click the name on the filesmelt it just opens another window with the same link and does nothing. What am I missing?
    It appears that my Opera is not good enough for filesmelt to accept my download request. I just got a hunch and downloaded firefox, with which I succesfully downloaded it and imediately uninstalled that stupid browser. I also tried explorer and even installed chrome both not able to start downloading from filesmelt.

    What a joke.

  8. #28
    2009 Stanley Cup Champs Chicken's Avatar
    200k clubArsenal of DemocracyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIEU3 Complete
    Divine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the Throne
    Victoria: RevolutionsRome GoldSemper FiVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided
    Victoria II: Heart of Darkness500k clubEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    1,156
    After some fiddling with the game files to see if I could somehow use the JoneSoft Generic Mod Switcher with this mod (which I couldn't figure out), I followed the instructions to setting everything up properly, and it all worked out.

    My Game Experience

    I chose to play as the small, but civilized nation of Yopelwood, a OPM located where Tokyo would have been under normal circumstances. Most of south-central Japan was occcupied by a 10-12 province uncivilized nation called Tana. North of my location was a region of uncolonized land stretching north all the way to the end of the Japanese Islands. The two smaller Islands to the south that make up the Japanese homeland were also uncolonized.

    Since I couldn't colonize without being a secondary power, I made it a point to research a few prestige-awarding technologies at the start of the game, and also make my way towards "Medicine" so that I could actually colonize that land. This worked well. But I will say that my starting economy was very weak, and I had a steady flow of people leaving my country because of difficult economic conditions. My only province produced Coal.

    Eventually, I was able to reach secondary power status and colonized the two smaller islands to my south, as well as the large island to the north. The area on the Main island to my north was still to inhospitable to colonize. Once my population had grown enough to support a small army, I built one (since I disbanded my starting one due to money constraints. Then I annexed Tana in one swing, connecting the south-central, and southern islands with my capital via land. I guess this annoyed the resident Asian power, 'Konbanberg Nations'.

    Konbanberg Nations started the game as a Great Power based in Australia, New Zealand, and parts of New Guinea, and were working their way up to me by colonizing the Philippines and lots of pacific islands. When I made my move against Tana, they saw it as an opportunity to gain more ground in their quest to conquer everything in the Pacific. Their first move was to colonize the land that I was still unable to colonize on the Main Islands of Japan. That's good for them, but they have not yet shipped troops there to defend it, so I easily occupied it.

    My biggest problem is that I hadn't gotten around to building a large Navy, just a few transports to get troops from island to island. So Konbanberg Nations is just blockading my whole island. I might have to make some concessions in this war to be able to compete with them in a future war.

    Constructive Criticisms

    The first thing that I noticed is that there is no real reason for any country to expand against another, except for prestige (and in turn maintaining great power status). I think this can be solved by fixing another issue that I've noticed, and that's cultures. I'm not sure if it's possible, but nations that are near one another should occasionally share cultures and religions. I don't remember the exact name of my primary culture, but I can say that my one starting province was the only province in the world occupied by that culture.

    Cores are another thing. I know that gaining and losing cores isn't as fundamental in Victoria 2 as in other games, such as the Hearts of Iron series or the Europa Universalis series, but if various nations had conflicting cores, it would give a reason for the world to change more dynamically.

    The Verdict

    That's where I stand right now. And I have to give this mod credit... I haven't played a game of Victoria 2 since version 1.1, probably back in September of last year. I just wasn't satisfied with certain aspects of the game, but now that I can come back to this and start from scratch, it gives me a great environment to learn the game again. Overall, this mod has been a great (re)learning experience for me, and I would go as far as to recommend it to new players to the game, who might not be familiar with World Politics from 1836 to 1936. This mod provides a great method to learn game mechanics without feeling like you're doing something wrong, such as researching all Naval Techs for a country like Austria.

    Great Work, and I look forward to playing this mod for a loooooong time!
    I celebrated Thanksgiving in an old-fashioned way. I invited everyone in my neighborhood to my house, we had an enormous feast, and then I killed them and took their land. - Jon Stewart
    ---
    #21: You can silence me but there will be others. Semper Fidelis Tyrannosaurus!
    Dr. Killinger: It's Sic Semper Tyrannis. You said, "Ever faithful terrible lizard."
    #21: I did? Cool.

  9. #29
    Thanks for your reply.

    I'll add cultures being more or less together to my to-do list (be the lands colonized or not), as well as adding random cores. Indeed that would be interesting. Unification too. How about uniting all the Nahua factions as Pacuatl or whatever? hehe

  10. #30
    Nice mod m68135, I really enjoyed it.

    But my game crashes when I try to enter diplomacy menu! Did anyone else got that bug?

  11. #31
    Quote Originally Posted by medopu View Post
    Nice mod m68135, I really enjoyed it.

    But my game crashes when I try to enter diplomacy menu! Did anyone else got that bug?
    Ahhh I thought that bug was gone. Looks like it still happens sometimes.

    That happens because the game thinks there are more then 8 great powers. The only solution I know is to open your save game (create a savegame if you don't have any) on notepad (Notepad++ preferably), then go to the very last line (hit ctrl+end). There you'll see some numbers like so:
    Code:
    great_nations=
    {
    255 361 334 263 286 311 266 277 223 336 }
    }
    Delete some numbers so that there are only eight numbers:

    Code:
    great_nations=
    {
    255 361 334 263 286 311 266 277 }
    }
    Then save the file and try loading the changed savegame. The bug shouldn't happen again.

    If anyone from the modding community knows a solution to this bug, please let me know.

    Alternatively, you could create another world and hope this bug won't happen again. Did you change any variable, by the way? Like, how many secondary powers will be created?

  12. #32
    nope. All i remember was I seeded 13 - number, and started playing.

    And since it was only like 3 months playing and an hour laughing at the names (lololo republic) I will gladly just change the seed and see what happens.

  13. #33
    2009 Stanley Cup Champs Chicken's Avatar
    200k clubArsenal of DemocracyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIEU3 Complete
    Divine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the Throne
    Victoria: RevolutionsRome GoldSemper FiVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided
    Victoria II: Heart of Darkness500k clubEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    1,156
    Quote Originally Posted by medopu View Post
    nope. All i remember was I seeded 13 - number, and started playing.

    And since it was only like 3 months playing and an hour laughing at the names (lololo republic) I will gladly just change the seed and see what happens.
    2 Questions...

    What exactly does changing the seed do?

    Also, do I have to keep making copies of the game any time I want a new scenario? Or can I just keep using the same backup copy?
    I celebrated Thanksgiving in an old-fashioned way. I invited everyone in my neighborhood to my house, we had an enormous feast, and then I killed them and took their land. - Jon Stewart
    ---
    #21: You can silence me but there will be others. Semper Fidelis Tyrannosaurus!
    Dr. Killinger: It's Sic Semper Tyrannis. You said, "Ever faithful terrible lizard."
    #21: I did? Cool.

  14. #34
    This is dang cool; thanks.

  15. #35
    Quote Originally Posted by Chicken View Post
    What exactly does changing the seed do?
    Changing the seed will create a different world. If you want to create the same world, say, for another mod or to show to someone, you can just tell them the seed and the exact same world will be generated. Or enter your favorite number and see what gives.

    Also, do I have to keep making copies of the game any time I want a new scenario? Or can I just keep using the same backup copy?
    Nope, you can run on the same copy how many times you want. But keep in mind savegames won't work if the world is different. Here's another reason for keeping the seed, you could create the same world again to load a previous save, if you enter the same seed.

  16. #36
    2009 Stanley Cup Champs Chicken's Avatar
    200k clubArsenal of DemocracyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIEU3 Complete
    Divine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the Throne
    Victoria: RevolutionsRome GoldSemper FiVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided
    Victoria II: Heart of Darkness500k clubEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    1,156
    Quote Originally Posted by m68135 View Post
    Changing the seed will create a different world. If you want to create the same world, say, for another mod or to show to someone, you can just tell them the seed and the exact same world will be generated. Or enter your favorite number and see what gives.



    Nope, you can run on the same copy how many times you want. But keep in mind savegames won't work if the world is different. Here's another reason for keeping the seed, you could create the same world again to load a previous save, if you enter the same seed.
    That's actually a really cool feature, being able to recreate the same worlds again. Kind of brings up another question though. If two people generated the same world, would this mod work for Multiplayer?

    I did run into an issue though. When asked for a seed, I entered 419 (it's a lucky number of sorts). The world generated fine, but there were no pops anywhere and the flags didn't generate properly (everyone had the same white flag). Do I have to enter it in a certain format, like 000000419? Or is it possible that there was just an error?

    Sorry to keep going like this, but I'm really fascinated by the sheer depth of this program.
    I celebrated Thanksgiving in an old-fashioned way. I invited everyone in my neighborhood to my house, we had an enormous feast, and then I killed them and took their land. - Jon Stewart
    ---
    #21: You can silence me but there will be others. Semper Fidelis Tyrannosaurus!
    Dr. Killinger: It's Sic Semper Tyrannis. You said, "Ever faithful terrible lizard."
    #21: I did? Cool.

  17. #37
    Theoretically, yes they could.

    About the issue, that never happened to me. Do you have UAC on? Try running Generator.py as administrator. Also, did you see the Press Enter to Continue screen?

    Typing 419 should work, you don't have to type 000000419 or whatever.

    Update: just tried seed 419, and I noticed it failed to generate because factions were getting exceptionally too many territories (so there weren't enough to distribute). I'll adjust the default variables and create an error message for when that happens. For now, just try another seed.
    Last edited by m68135; 05-07-2011 at 06:33.

  18. #38
    Modding Victoria 2 ZomgK3tchup's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDarkest HourDeus VultEU3 CompleteDivine Wind
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the ThroneVictoria: RevolutionsSemper Fi
    Sword of the StarsVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedCK2: Holy Knight500k club
    Europa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    2,524
    Blog Entries
    1
    Just a thought, but the flags are a little too dark. Perhaps some lighter colors, particularly white should be added to create contrast.

  19. #39
    Quote Originally Posted by ZomgK3tchup View Post
    Just a thought, but the flags are a little too dark. Perhaps some lighter colors, particularly white should be added to create contrast.
    I never thought about that. Thanks, will be done on the next version!

  20. #40
    Modding Victoria 2 ZomgK3tchup's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDarkest HourDeus VultEU3 CompleteDivine Wind
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the ThroneVictoria: RevolutionsSemper Fi
    Sword of the StarsVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedCK2: Holy Knight500k club
    Europa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    2,524
    Blog Entries
    1
    I don't know the parameters of your coding abilities, but here are my thoughts...

    Tricolors, for example, look best if you have two contrasting colors with white in the middle (i.e. France, Imperial Germany, Mexico, etc.) However, it's also visibly appealing if the colors ascend or descend from brightest to darkest (Imperial Russia, Modern Germany, etc.) If you can simulate this, that would be great.

    I also noticed the lack of basic colors (red, blue, green) in country AND flag colors.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 24 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts