+ Reply to Thread
Page 42 of 299 FirstFirst ... 17 32 40 41 42 43 44 52 67 92 117 142 ... LastLast
Results 821 to 840 of 5968

Thread: Quick questions / Quick answers Thread

  1. #821
    General The Arch Mede's Avatar
    Europa Universalis 3Europa Universalis: ChroniclesEU3 CompleteRome GoldVictoria 2
    Victoria II: A House Divided

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    In a Turkish Bath
    Posts
    2,254
    Quote Originally Posted by Matnjord View Post
    Despite having played quite a lot of Vicky 2, I've always been a bit nebulous on what bureaucrats do exactly. Besides helping to fight crime, what do they do exactly?
    They promote POPs and they cut military costs. If your bureaucrats are below par, promotion rates decrease (to zero at zero bureaucrats) and military costs increase (doubled at zero bureaucrats). Excess bureaucrats are just a dead weight.

  2. #822
    First Lieutenant Matnjord's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteDivine WindHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the Throne
    Semper FiVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedRise of PrussiaEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Frenchmen in London
    Posts
    202
    Thanks Arch Mede, as usual your posts are very helpful!

  3. #823
    I've got a question about becoming a GP in the PDM mod:

    Playing as Brunswick (German Minor) I managed to climb onto the 8th rank, due to a massive about of prestige. I do own 4 regions.

    I'm on the 8th rank for about a year now, but I didn't manage to become a GP yet. So do I have to leave Prussias sphere first? And wont they declare war on me for adding me to their sphere again?


    Just after starting the game again and playing 1-2 more days I became a GP, shame on me :<

  4. #824
    Indefatigable Psychotic tamius23's Avatar
    Cities in MotionCities in Motion 2Crusader Kings IIDeus VultEU3 Complete
    Divine WindHeir to the ThroneVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedCK2: Holy Knight
    500k club

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Sarnia Cherie
    Posts
    2,470
    Not familiar with PDM; but in the normal game you have to have more than one state to be a Great Power.

  5. #825
    Second Lieutenant Valenhiem's Avatar
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    145
    Hey, I'm playing as the Confederate States of America (released in early 1850's w/o civil war), and the year's 1863. I've been trying to get reactionaries in charge, because there are only laissez-faire parties (minus the reactionaries and socialists, who aren't very popular, despite 2 elections per year). I was wondering what's the best way to become a monarchy or presidential dictatorship? I understand I'd have to piss off a certain section of the populace (soldiers?) and get a revolution, but I'm not sure how. Any advice?

    Also, in my USA game, w/ 2 elections per year, I still couldn't get the conservatives out of power into the year 1920... does the USA have some pro-conservative modifier or something?
    Student
    Religion: Atheist
    Ideology: Radical (Anarchocapitalist/Liberal)
    Issues: Laissez-faire/Pacifism/Free Trade/Full Citizenship/Atheism
    Militancy: 9k+
    Conciousness, 9k+
    Revolt Risk: 100%

  6. #826
    Ask how many Divisions I have! InnocentIII's Avatar
    A Game of DwarvesCrusader Kings IICommander: Conquest of the AmericasDeus VultDiplomacy
    East India CompanyEU3 CompleteDivine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron III
    Hearts of Iron III CollectionHOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In NomineMajesty 2
    EU3 Napoleon's AmbitionVictoria: RevolutionsEuropa Universalis: RomeSemper FiSengoku
    Supreme Ruler 2020Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessCK2: Holy Knight
    EU Rome Collectors EditionEU3 Collectors Edition500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    The frozen tundra of western New York
    Posts
    4,064
    Quote Originally Posted by Valenhiem View Post
    Hey, I'm playing as the Confederate States of America (released in early 1850's w/o civil war), and the year's 1863. I've been trying to get reactionaries in charge, because there are only laissez-faire parties (minus the reactionaries and socialists, who aren't very popular, despite 2 elections per year). I was wondering what's the best way to become a monarchy or presidential dictatorship? I understand I'd have to piss off a certain section of the populace (soldiers?) and get a revolution, but I'm not sure how. Any advice?
    One easy way to upset everyone is to declare Humiliation wars on, say, Nepal, and then WP out, boosting MIL by 2. There are probably better ways to upset the right people, but if you upset every faction, eventually the group you want will revolt.
    Try Aurora - Dwarf Fortress in Space!
    Check out my Vicky2 AAR: Last Tango in 1.3 - An Argentine AAR Favorite Gameplay AAR, Vicky1/2 2011 (Round 3) - Completed
    Five for Fighting - A Canadian HoI3 AAR WritAAR of the Week (December 11th - December 18th, 2011) AAR Showcase Week of 6/17/12 - Completed

  7. #827
    Sergeant johnSs's Avatar
    EU3 CompleteHearts of Iron IIIVictoria 2

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    sevilla, españa
    Posts
    63
    Hey guys,

    I'm confused about the different territories. I'm playing with Spain right now in 1873 and I've retaken all of the former Spanish colonies in South America and also Hispaniola... I took over parts of Africa and Southwest Asia too. My question is what is the difference between establishing a protectorate and conquering? Difference between Satellite and Dominion too? Also - how do I colonize somewhere? When I try to send my people from my African territory to colonize an area next to it, it tells me I need at least 20 life value in that prospective colony. Do I need to wait until the Scramble for Africa in the mid 1880s to happen ingame to be able to start taking parts of Africa other than my conquered Ethiopia and Egypt?

    Thanks so much guys! Good to be on your site!

  8. #828
    General The Arch Mede's Avatar
    Europa Universalis 3Europa Universalis: ChroniclesEU3 CompleteRome GoldVictoria 2
    Victoria II: A House Divided

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    In a Turkish Bath
    Posts
    2,254
    Quote Originally Posted by johnSs View Post
    Hey guys,

    I'm confused about the different territories. I'm playing with Spain right now in 1873 and I've retaken all of the former Spanish colonies in South America and also Hispaniola... I took over parts of Africa and Southwest Asia too. My question is what is the difference between establishing a protectorate and conquering? Difference between Satellite and Dominion too? Also - how do I colonize somewhere? When I try to send my people from my African territory to colonize an area next to it, it tells me I need at least 20 life value in that prospective colony. Do I need to wait until the Scramble for Africa in the mid 1880s to happen ingame to be able to start taking parts of Africa other than my conquered Ethiopia and Egypt?

    Thanks so much guys! Good to be on your site!
    You need life value boosting techs (machine guns, Nationalism and Imperialism, and medicine).
    Proctecterate conquers an unciv and turns it into colonies of yours for small amounts of infamy.
    Conquest conquers a civ and turns it into a state of yours for large amounts of infamy.

  9. #829
    Mwahahahahaha s1234567890m's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IICommander: Conquest of the AmericasDeus VultEU3 CompleteDivine Wind
    Hearts of Iron IIIHearts of Iron III CollectionHeir to the ThroneKing Arthur IILost Empire - Immortals
    MagickaNaval War: Arctic CircleSemper FiSengokuSword of the Stars
    Sword of the Stars IISupreme Ruler: Cold WarVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedWarlock: Master of the Arcane
    V2 AHD BetaHearts of Iron: The Card GamePride of NationsCK2: Holy Knight500k club
    Europa Universalis IVEUIV: Wealth of NationsEUIV: Conquest of Paradise

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    3,162
    What benefits do the other cavalry have over the original?
    Ignored: Nuril, videonfan, Pandi

  10. #830
    General The Arch Mede's Avatar
    Europa Universalis 3Europa Universalis: ChroniclesEU3 CompleteRome GoldVictoria 2
    Victoria II: A House Divided

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    In a Turkish Bath
    Posts
    2,254
    Quote Originally Posted by s1234567890m View Post
    What benefits do the other cavalry have over the original?
    Not a lot. Basically they each gain on one stat and lose on several compared to the original. Unless you really want what that stat gives, stick with the original.

  11. #831
    Colonel the_Hussar's Avatar
    Rome GoldVictoria 2

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    834
    Quote Originally Posted by The Arch Mede View Post
    Not a lot. Basically they each gain on one stat and lose on several compared to the original. Unless you really want what that stat gives, stick with the original.
    Except maybe the Hussar. You get 3.5 recon, with nearly the same attack/defense as regular cav. Just my 0.02 zlotey.

  12. #832
    Field Marshal grommile's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDivine WindHearts of Iron III CollectionMarch of the EaglesVictoria II: Heart of Darkness
    500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Northampton, England (in 237)
    Posts
    6,523
    Quote Originally Posted by The Arch Mede View Post
    Proctecterate conquers an unciv and turns it into colonies of yours for small amounts of infamy.
    Conquest conquers a civ and turns it into a state of yours for large amounts of infamy.
    Well, specifically: Conquest conquers one-state civs, and uncivs up to four states, for 20 infamy. If you're civilized, then Protectorate lets you conquer one-state uncivs for 8 infamy, until you get N&I after which you can use Protectorate on uncivs up to four states in size.
    If you think someone's trolling, PM a moderator.

    Ask your quick modding questions in the appropriate place

  13. #833
    Field Marshal grommile's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDivine WindHearts of Iron III CollectionMarch of the EaglesVictoria II: Heart of Darkness
    500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Northampton, England (in 237)
    Posts
    6,523
    And a question:

    I'm China. It's 1880. Why are almost all Manchu POPs outside Manchuria military personnel? (Not that I'm complaining much, since it means there are provinces that can support 40 brigades of Guards...)
    Last edited by grommile; 14-11-2011 at 23:39.
    If you think someone's trolling, PM a moderator.

    Ask your quick modding questions in the appropriate place

  14. #834
    Please help me with this. What is the factor that influence the amount of raw goods from a RGO ? Does it tie to tech and autocrat only? Do increasing the numbers of laborer in a RGO help with increasing the output raw goods?

  15. #835
    Sergeant johnSs's Avatar
    EU3 CompleteHearts of Iron IIIVictoria 2

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    sevilla, españa
    Posts
    63
    Is there a way to change the system of government? I went from HM Government to a Presidential Dictatorship in Spain and I can't change the upper house or the ruling party or anything. I heard it was supposed to get more democratic as time went on but when I was King I allowed full voting rights and then this new reactionary thing took over and now I am presidential dictator and it took away all the rights I gave the people..

  16. #836
    Field Marshal grommile's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDivine WindHearts of Iron III CollectionMarch of the EaglesVictoria II: Heart of Darkness
    500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Northampton, England (in 237)
    Posts
    6,523
    Quote Originally Posted by johnSs View Post
    Is there a way to change the system of government?
    Only as a consquence of revolts (Jacobins make the country more democratic if they win, and Fascists, Communists, Reactionaries, and Anarcho-Liberals take complete control of the political system) or enacting the Vote Franchise series of reforms.

    Quote Originally Posted by Sumonious View Post
    Please help me with this. What is the factor that influence the amount of raw goods from a RGO ? Does it tie to tech and autocrat only? Do increasing the numbers of laborer in a RGO help with increasing the output raw goods?
    Given that working in RGOs is for the most part an economically inefficient use of your POPs, it's better to think of it as "the output increases the number of labourers/farmers required"; total world output of a given RGO good is limited by total world demand, and most RGO goods have more total worldwide production capacity than they do total worldwide demand. (Especially as more countries develop RGO output techs.)
    Last edited by grommile; 15-11-2011 at 02:46.
    If you think someone's trolling, PM a moderator.

    Ask your quick modding questions in the appropriate place

  17. #837
    Quote Originally Posted by grommile View Post
    Given that working in RGOs is for the most part an economically inefficient use of your POPs, it's better to think of it as "the output increases the number of labourers/farmers required"; total world output of a given RGO good is limited by total world demand, and most RGO goods have more total worldwide production capacity than they do total worldwide demand. (Especially as more countries develop RGO output techs.)
    What's about some rare resources such as oil, dye or rubber? Especially in early game, England gobbles up all the dye in the world and I have trouble finding raw for my regular clothes factory.

    New question: should I close down bankrupted factory or just leave it there?

  18. #838
    Colonel the_Hussar's Avatar
    Rome GoldVictoria 2

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    834
    Quote Originally Posted by Sumonious View Post
    What's about some rare resources such as oil, dye or rubber? Especially in early game, England gobbles up all the dye in the world and I have trouble finding raw for my regular clothes factory.

    New question: should I close down bankrupted factory or just leave it there?
    Well, dye is not a resource ... you can build a factory to produce it. The others, oil and rubber, come later in the game when some of the provinces switch resoruces.

    Regarding bankrupted factories, I usually leave them ... and only close them down and remove them when they get in my way. Sometimes, they can be useful and profitable, depending, what happens later in the game.

  19. #839
    Quote Originally Posted by the_Hussar View Post
    Well, dye is not a resource ... you can build a factory to produce it. The others, oil and rubber, come later in the game when some of the provinces switch resoruces.

    Regarding bankrupted factories, I usually leave them ... and only close them down and remove them when they get in my way. Sometimes, they can be useful and profitable, depending, what happens later in the game.
    dye is a resource...it's all over India

  20. #840
    Colonel the_Hussar's Avatar
    Rome GoldVictoria 2

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    834
    What do the factories build then, with the two paint cans that are tipped over?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 42 of 299 FirstFirst ... 17 32 40 41 42 43 44 52 67 92 117 142 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts