Thread: Cherokee in 1850?

Cherokee in 1850?

While I like the actual portrayal of Native Americans in a game, I can't help but think that it would be more accurate to call the territory northwest of Texas "Commanches", as the Commanche(indeed, their cavalry proved more effective in running battles than US dragoons before the introduction of repeating rifles and revolvers) proved to be a problem for the US government from 1850-1870 or so, whereas the Cherokee had already gone through the Trail of Tears and were firmly subjugated.

Crusader Kings IICommander: Conquest of the AmericasDeus VultEU3 CompleteDivine Wind
    Hearts of Iron IIIHeir to the ThroneMagickaVictoria: RevolutionsSengoku
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided

Not that I'm an expert on these matters but I think the setup for 1850 is fairly accurate actually. The Cherokee were still quite powerful when the game starts and a force to be reckoned with. Definitely not subjugated yet.
    Most of the Cherokee had been forcibly relocated to the area north of Texas and they had put aside their tribal differences and prospered during the 1850s. I think they did simplify the tribal situation somewhat as the Comanches and other lesser aboriginal tribes aren't there at all though, I will admit. Could be a game balancing issue I suppose.