+ Reply to Thread
Page 42 of 601 FirstFirst ... 17 32 40 41 42 43 44 52 67 92 117 142 ... LastLast
Results 821 to 840 of 12015

Thread: Quick questions / Quick answers -- EU3

  1. #821
    Quote Originally Posted by hairlessOrphan View Post
    Argh! This has to be a highly-requested feature, right? It's hard to keep track of military stacks in a big war.
    Name them something distinctive, as OrangeYoshi said. I tend to use a combination of the army outliner and naming them after constituent parts of my country. In a small country, provinces; in a WC game, usually after nations that are now part of my nation, similar to the way the second and third armies of England are named after Scotland and Ireland. Sticking with 1st Army, etc. will make you lose track a lot faster than remembering that the Army of Burgundy is the one sieging Tirol.

  2. #822
    Quote Originally Posted by KarlMonster View Post
    "they surrender. But I don't get the province, even though ..."

    I once tried to rotate out the troops that were sieging a province. My troops were there first, but an ally arrived soon after. I then replaced the initial regiments - which were at full strength - with ones that had suffered significant losses. With my ally's troops also present, the siege would not be prolonged by lower manpower. I made certain that I had my troops in the province at all times, but I lost control of the siege as soon as those initial troops were given a new destination. So not only does it matter whose regiments begin the siege, it also matters *which* specific regiments conduct the siege.
    Aah that explains why Portugal got the Irish city instead of me in my English campaign. I accidentely did the same thing. Anyway I'm wondering how I can take that city back now. I attacked it, but I can't annex. And they won't give it to me in a peace deal. So I end up with a stipped area. Does this mean I have to attack Portugal on the mainland until they are battered enough to give me the region? Because I don't want to do that. I just want that Irish area.

  3. #823
    Major Pompan's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteDivine WindHeir to the ThroneMagicka
    Victoria 2Europa Universalis IV: Pre-orderWarlock 2: The Exiled

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Far North
    Posts
    739
    Quote Originally Posted by Twilight View Post
    Based on a quick glance at the mission files some time ago, you have to be Ming, and have all your provinces converted to Confucian.
    Okay. Damnit got to stop expanding into buddhist lands.. xD

  4. #824
    Captain synyster31's Avatar
    Cities in MotionCrusader Kings IIEast India CompanyEU3 CompleteDivine Wind
    Heir to the ThroneVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Marching On The Capital
    Posts
    365
    Quote Originally Posted by RJA View Post
    Aah that explains why Portugal got the Irish city instead of me in my English campaign. I accidentely did the same thing. Anyway I'm wondering how I can take that city back now. I attacked it, but I can't annex. And they won't give it to me in a peace deal. So I end up with a stipped area. Does this mean I have to attack Portugal on the mainland until they are battered enough to give me the region? Because I don't want to do that. I just want that Irish area.
    More than likely yes, you could try blockading them if your advanced far enough in Naval tech. That or you could try and sit it out until the province defected to you, although that could take quite a while!

  5. #825
    in EU3 Complete, what are the requirements for the Create Vassal button to be clickable? It seems like War and/or Reputation prevents you. Do you need to control all cores to Create a Vassal?

    In order to have a country Release a Nation must it control all Cores of that country? Is there a way to see all the cores belonging to a Country - instead of clicking on every province?

  6. #826
    Captain synyster31's Avatar
    Cities in MotionCrusader Kings IIEast India CompanyEU3 CompleteDivine Wind
    Heir to the ThroneVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Marching On The Capital
    Posts
    365
    Quote Originally Posted by Yxklyx View Post
    In order to have a country Release a Nation must it control all Cores of that country? Is there a way to see all the cores belonging to a Country - instead of clicking on every province?
    Im pretty sure the capital of the country to be released still needs to have the core & culture present.

  7. #827
    How do you tell what the culture of a province is?

  8. #828
    Captain synyster31's Avatar
    Cities in MotionCrusader Kings IIEast India CompanyEU3 CompleteDivine Wind
    Heir to the ThroneVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Marching On The Capital
    Posts
    365
    Its in the info box when you select a province. To find a countries original or required culture you'll probably be best to check the files.

  9. #829
    Can anyone explain the "protect against.." mission to me? Because I think I must be doing something wrong. They want me to have a bigger army than France (playing as England) and I have because France lost a lot of troops in some war. But the mission is not accomplished. Why is that?

  10. #830
    Second Lieutenant KarlMonster's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteDivine WindHeir to the Throne500k club
    Europa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    172
    RJA - it isn't the total number of soldiers at any given time, it is based on the total number of regiments. Big AI countries like France will move around stacks of armies, some of which will be 0/0/0 - no surviving troops in that army group, but the regiments somehow still exist. Since it's France, there should come a time when it gets some army groups (and their regiments) destroyed.
    I generally cancel the "protect against" missions, unless the countries are much smaller than France.

  11. #831
    Quote Originally Posted by KarlMonster View Post
    RJA - it isn't the total number of soldiers at any given time, it is based on the total number of regiments. Big AI countries like France will move around stacks of armies, some of which will be 0/0/0 - no surviving troops in that army group, but the regiments somehow still exist. Since it's France, there should come a time when it gets some army groups (and their regiments) destroyed.
    I generally cancel the "protect against" missions, unless the countries are much smaller than France.
    Aah okay thanks. I knew it had to be something simple. I cancelled the mission, but I got a new one. Incorporate Scotland into my economy. I have to gain a core on Lothian by diplo-annexing. But I only recently vassalized them, so I can't annex right? What to do then? The annoying thing is that 10 minutes before that happened I had a border dispute event where I could gain a core on Lothian in exchange for a relationdrop. I didn't want that so I chose the other option. I wished I didn't.

  12. #832
    How is "dominant culture" determined? Is it the culture in your nation with the most provinces, or does it specifically have to be over 50%?

    Say I'm Bihar and I've got three Bihari provinces, three Nepali provinces, and four Avadhi provinces. Could I do a culture shift to Avadhi, if I met the other requirements?

  13. #833
    Indipidipenditant Demi Moderator LordLeto's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDeus VultEuropa Universalis 3Divine WindHeir to the Throne
    Europa Universalis III: In NomineMagickaMajesty 2EU3 Napoleon's AmbitionEuropa Universalis: Rome
    Victoria 2Mount & Blade: WarbandCK2: Holy Knight500k clubEUIV: Call to arms event
    Europa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Nap Time
    Posts
    3,691
    Quote Originally Posted by Cerbo View Post
    How is "dominant culture" determined? Is it the culture in your nation with the most provinces, or does it specifically have to be over 50%?

    Say I'm Bihar and I've got three Bihari provinces, three Nepali provinces, and four Avadhi provinces. Could I do a culture shift to Avadhi, if I met the other requirements?
    I beleive its just straight # of provinces w/ that culture, to be dominant it needs to be >50%. I think you'd need 2 more Avadhi(or lose a nepali or two) to make it avalaible.
    If I'm speaking in Gold, it means I'm speaking in my capacity as a Demi-Mod.
    Any other color, it's your choice whether to pay attention or not


    "Texas is a state of mind. Texas is an obsession. Above all, Texas is a nation in every sense of the word." -- John Steinbeck

    PARADOX 10 COMMANDMENTS

  14. #834
    Indipidipenditant Demi Moderator LordLeto's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDeus VultEuropa Universalis 3Divine WindHeir to the Throne
    Europa Universalis III: In NomineMagickaMajesty 2EU3 Napoleon's AmbitionEuropa Universalis: Rome
    Victoria 2Mount & Blade: WarbandCK2: Holy Knight500k clubEUIV: Call to arms event
    Europa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Nap Time
    Posts
    3,691
    How often(if ever) does the AI cancel/fail a mission? Playing Ireland(from Connacht) and England has the "conquer Ireland" mission and it could get real old.
    If I'm speaking in Gold, it means I'm speaking in my capacity as a Demi-Mod.
    Any other color, it's your choice whether to pay attention or not


    "Texas is a state of mind. Texas is an obsession. Above all, Texas is a nation in every sense of the word." -- John Steinbeck

    PARADOX 10 COMMANDMENTS

  15. #835
    Mushroom Korps Field Marshal OrangeYoshi's Avatar
    200k clubHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIDeus VultEU3 Complete
    Divine WindHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the ThroneIron CrossLegio
    Victoria: RevolutionsRome GoldSemper FiVictoria 2500k club
    Europa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    In your computer screen
    Posts
    9,720
    Blog Entries
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by Cerbo View Post
    How is "dominant culture" determined? Is it the culture in your nation with the most provinces, or does it specifically have to be over 50%?
    The culture of your capital at the start of the game. You can change this culture by switching your capital, having a majority of your provinces be that new culture, and taking the national decision.
    On Ubik: "HE GETS TO BE SMUG AFTER CARVING THE FACE OF PERFECTION USING THE SPOON OF INSPIRATION UPON THE BUTTOCKS OF AN ANGEL"

    ────── OrangeYoshi's Newbie Sig Information Center: Help is just a click away... ──────
    EU3 Wiki lll Paradox Acronyms lll FAQ Forum lll General FAQ lll Siege FAQ lll Patrolling Guidelines
    No Time Limit Mod lll Quick Questions Quick Answers

  16. #836
    Major JohnnyReb's Avatar
    Hearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonDeus VultEU3 CompleteHeir to the ThroneVictoria: Revolutions
    Europa Universalis: Rome

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Dixieland
    Posts
    717
    How do I lose to pretender rebels? I've let them capture the capital, do I just need to wait?

  17. #837
    Mushroom Korps Field Marshal OrangeYoshi's Avatar
    200k clubHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIDeus VultEU3 Complete
    Divine WindHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the ThroneIron CrossLegio
    Victoria: RevolutionsRome GoldSemper FiVictoria 2500k club
    Europa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    In your computer screen
    Posts
    9,720
    Blog Entries
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnnyReb View Post
    How do I lose to pretender rebels? I've let them capture the capital, do I just need to wait?
    Capture the capital for something like a year, or have over half of your province occupied by rebels and collapse. Or you could just surrender to them in the religious/rebels tab in the F1 menu.
    On Ubik: "HE GETS TO BE SMUG AFTER CARVING THE FACE OF PERFECTION USING THE SPOON OF INSPIRATION UPON THE BUTTOCKS OF AN ANGEL"

    ────── OrangeYoshi's Newbie Sig Information Center: Help is just a click away... ──────
    EU3 Wiki lll Paradox Acronyms lll FAQ Forum lll General FAQ lll Siege FAQ lll Patrolling Guidelines
    No Time Limit Mod lll Quick Questions Quick Answers

  18. #838
    My Production Income nationwide is very low - I have lots of Overseas Provinces but my Tariffs are high. Do the Production Modifiers affect my Tariffs - since Production is converted to Tariffs? I have an event in which I have to choose one category to reduce tech rate by 20%.

  19. #839
    Mushroom Korps Field Marshal OrangeYoshi's Avatar
    200k clubHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIDeus VultEU3 Complete
    Divine WindHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the ThroneIron CrossLegio
    Victoria: RevolutionsRome GoldSemper FiVictoria 2500k club
    Europa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    In your computer screen
    Posts
    9,720
    Blog Entries
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by Yxklyx View Post
    Do the Production Modifiers affect my Tariffs - since Production is converted to Tariffs?
    Yes.
    On Ubik: "HE GETS TO BE SMUG AFTER CARVING THE FACE OF PERFECTION USING THE SPOON OF INSPIRATION UPON THE BUTTOCKS OF AN ANGEL"

    ────── OrangeYoshi's Newbie Sig Information Center: Help is just a click away... ──────
    EU3 Wiki lll Paradox Acronyms lll FAQ Forum lll General FAQ lll Siege FAQ lll Patrolling Guidelines
    No Time Limit Mod lll Quick Questions Quick Answers

  20. #840
    If you land your army by disembarking quickly at one of your ports does the defender get a defensive bonus in the ensuing battle?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 42 of 601 FirstFirst ... 17 32 40 41 42 43 44 52 67 92 117 142 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts