+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24

Thread: Please, please help and answer my questions to my second HOI3 game..

  1. #1

    Please, please help and answer my questions to my second HOI3 game..

    Today i played sveral hours again and had some problems an questions.

    Would anybody please answer my questions? Tomorrow i will play next game..

    1. I played as germany (not at war with any country) and planned to attack greece. Attack should start from provinces at albania. So i got the rights to walk through albania through diplomacy and sent my transport ships with troops onboard to the habour in albania and unloaded them. After a short time, i ran out of supply in albania. I tried to built a supply convoi from germany to the habour at albania. that doesn´t work. the interface did not offer the target habour in albania. How can i supply my troops in albania? How to do?

    2. Later 1939 before war begins, i shipped some troops to tobruk. When war begins, i moved to the right towards El Alamein, etc. and captured the city with habour and airfield right of El Alamein. Now hole county is mine but same problem here, no supply. I thought i can get supply from toburk (italien) or through the habour, but nothing happened. I cannot built a convoi with supplies from germany (target habour in africa isn´t shown in interface). And now i cannot bring my transport ships to Tobruk too. Is this because Gibraltar? How can i supply my troops there? Why didn´t they got supplies from Tobruk - it is only 6-8 provinces away. How to do with my africa korps?

    3. I thought if i put more IC to consumer goods, my money points are raising - but money did not raise???

    4. What is the requirement to bulit supply convois to my troops in countries overseas?

    5. Often my paratroopers cannot get in the transport plane. I don´t know why. After some minutes, the icon to load in plane is active. What happened? Why is it not possible to load paratroopers in my planes sometimes?

    6. I got austria before historical event happened. I thought i get troops from austria. But i didn´t get any troops. I remember, as i played for the first time, i got many troops from austria. Is this because i got austria before historical event?

    7. In northern africa, i tried to get in a province, but i could not get in - it says infrastructure is too low. What to do?

    8. I own "STUKA" wings in Tobruk and tried to attack british troops by "groundattack" - didn´t work. I cannot choose anything in "Stuka"-interface. All options incl. "groundattack" are disabled???!!! I did same action against polish troops - it worked!

    Thats for now.. hope anybody could answer my questions. Would be really great!
    Last edited by sossenbinder; 02-11-2010 at 23:07.

  2. #2
    Field Marshal OKH's Avatar
    Hearts of Iron III

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    3,039
    Quote Originally Posted by sossenbinder View Post
    1. I played as germany (not at war with any country) and planned to attack greece. Attack should start from provinces at albania. So i got the rights to walk through albania through diplomacy and sent my transport ships with troops onboard to the habour in albania and unloaded them. After a short time, i ran out of supply in albania. I tried to built a supply convoi from germany to the habour at albania. that doesn´t work. the interface did not offer the target habour in albania. How can i supply my troops in albania? How to do?

    3. I thought if i put more IC to consumer goods, my money points are raising - but money did not raise???

    56. I got austria before historical event happened. I thought i get troops from austria. But i didn´t get any troops. I remember, as i played for the first time, i got many troops from austria. Is this because i got austria before historical event?

    Thats for now.. hope anybody could answer my questions. Would be really great!
    Money supply will increase based on an increase in I/C...it is no longer based on consumer goods, as in Hoi 1&2. Austria doesn't provide you with troops in Hoi3...it gives you more MP/resources/IC....also a chage from the earlier versions of the game.

  3. #3
    For your supply issues, i strongly suggest you get ´semper fi´, as some things are fixed there, and if that isnt enough, there is an arcade-mode, simplifying the supply-system. Between the two, you should be able to fix those issues once and for all. That covers 1,2 and 4. Others may want to help you on that for version 1.4.

    3. It was patched out. Money generation now entirely depends on your ICs - used or not, if i am not mistaken. Excess consumer goods are a plain waste, now. Yeah, yeah, i know, but i wasnt the one, who came up with that...

    5. IIRC paratroopers require maximum organization (the green bar) in order to board a plane. Wait till it is at max - it recovers automatically.

    6. An earlier patch or maybe HoI2, or a mod? I dont *think* the date has any impact on what you get from austria troopwise, which in 2.03c is zilch (nothing).

    7. Provinces with a base(bombing et al. doesnt affect this effect)-infra below 3 (2 or less - IIRC) are impassable - they change ownership depending on their adjacant province´s owner. If you remember not seeing impassable in the game where you got troops from austria, you were definetaly playing an earlier version, as those were introduced in 1.4. Once you own them, you can build infra on them and thus make them passable.

    8. Range? Or maybe they cant operate when out of fuel... It surely does not depend on the target you choose, but only on its distance. You pick one (or more) province(s)/sea-zone(s) as target anyways, not ´troops´.

    Bonus: When you open the setting.txt in the game´s main-directory, there is an entry going like ´language = l_english´ (or something like this) - you can change ´english´ to ´german´. Save the file (after making a backup, if you feel you cant remember your changes), and load the game up...
    Viel Spaß!

  4. #4
    Field Marshal OKH's Avatar
    Hearts of Iron III

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    3,039
    If you want to go with a Southern strategy...I will suggest a different one for you.
    1)Do not invite Ita into the axis...until France is defeated....the Ita ai will act irresponsibly in managing it's naval assets vs the combined threat of the RN/Fra.
    2)Do invite Japan into the axis before France surrenders, so it can obtain concessions from the Vichy govt.
    3)Leave Greece for the Ita.....invite Ita into the axis, as you invade Yug...and then Bulgaria...do not puppet either of them. With a wide front on the Greek border, created by the Yug campaign....Ita can outflank and defeat the Greeks by itself. Be prepared to lend air support to them, if needed.
    4)Start a build up the Infrastructure from Klagenfurt to the Turkish border.
    5)Invade Turkey..then Iraq...This will allow Italy to attack Egypt from the East and will threaten the RN bases in the eastern Med.
    6)Invite Persia into the axis, and Puppet Iraq
    7)Watch as the joint Persian/Iraq force invades..India...pushing for a linkup with the Japanese pushing from the other side of India.
    8)Build up the Infra from Istanbul to Kars
    9)Now you threaten the SU, on a new front..one very close to it's main oil supply.
    Last edited by OKH; 03-11-2010 at 17:38.

  5. #5
    Major RickR's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest Hour
    March of the EaglesSemper FiVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedMount & Blade: Warband

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Here, there, everywhere
    Posts
    786
    OKH,

    Wow! That is a good strategy! Persian/Iraq and Japanese linking up and knocking India and all those Resources out plus new front against SU. I like it.

    Still early in my first game with no war so far...

    Rick
    "An armed man is a citizen. An unarmed man is a subject."
    "None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free."

  6. #6
    1. I played as germany (not at war with any country) and planned to attack greece. Attack should start from provinces at albania. So i got the rights to walk through albania through diplomacy and sent my transport ships with troops onboard to the habour in albania and unloaded them. After a short time, i ran out of supply in albania. I tried to built a supply convoi from germany to the habour at albania. that doesn´t work. the interface did not offer the target habour in albania. How can i supply my troops in albania? How to do?

    2. Later 1939 before war begins, i shipped some troops to tobruk. When war begins, i moved to the right towards El Alamein, etc. and captured the city with habour and airfield right of El Alamein. Now hole county is mine but same problem here, no supply. I thought i can get supply from toburk (italien) or through the habour, but nothing happened. I cannot built a convoi with supplies from germany (target habour in africa isn´t shown in interface). And now i cannot bring my transport ships to Tobruk too. Is this because Gibraltar? How can i supply my troops there? Why didn´t they got supplies from Tobruk - it is only 6-8 provinces away. How to do with my africa korps?

    3. What is the requirement to bulit supply convois to my troops in countries overseas?

    4. I built some troops as "reserve". after mobilizing them and getting full strength and organization they still shown a half filled bar in unit interface that says "reserve troop" - does this affect anything? Are thes troops different from others? I sthis bar "reserve" disappearing anytime?


    Please anybody answers the 3 questions above and my new question. All other are answered - thanks again for your help. Great community here!
    Last edited by sossenbinder; 03-11-2010 at 10:12.

  7. #7
    4. No, the reserve warning does not disappear over time - it´s just that though: a reminder that these troops originally belong to the reserve. Now, then you hit ´mobilize´ your reserve troops are able to reinforce upto full normal strength - provided, of course, you set the reinforcement slider in the production menu to >0 (note how its ´need´ rises when you hit ´mobilize´). As a side-note it is always better (IMHO, at least) to build reserves prior to war, not only because it saves you some ressources, but also, because reserve units dont count nearly as much (if at all?) towards your threat-level as regular divs do - thus your diplomacy gets easier this way... once you are at war, you can skip such considerations and build regular divs...

  8. #8
    GroFAZ Demi Moderator blue emu's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis 3Hearts of Iron IIIHearts of Iron III CollectionHeir to the Throne
    Europa Universalis: RomeHoi 2 Beta500k club

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Woodstock N.B. Canada
    Posts
    16,808
    Quote Originally Posted by sossenbinder View Post
    1. I played as germany (not at war with any country) and planned to attack greece. Attack should start from provinces at albania. So i got the rights to walk through albania through diplomacy and sent my transport ships with troops onboard to the habour in albania and unloaded them. After a short time, i ran out of supply in albania. I tried to built a supply convoi from germany to the habour at albania. that doesn´t work. the interface did not offer the target habour in albania. How can i supply my troops in albania? How to do?

    2. Later 1939 before war begins, i shipped some troops to tobruk. When war begins, i moved to the right towards El Alamein, etc. and captured the city with habour and airfield right of El Alamein. Now hole county is mine but same problem here, no supply. I thought i can get supply from toburk (italien) or through the habour, but nothing happened. I cannot built a convoi with supplies from germany (target habour in africa isn´t shown in interface). And now i cannot bring my transport ships to Tobruk too. Is this because Gibraltar? How can i supply my troops there? Why didn´t they got supplies from Tobruk - it is only 6-8 provinces away. How to do with my africa korps?

    3. What is the requirement to bulit supply convois to my troops in countries overseas?

    4. I built some troops as "reserve". after mobilizing them and getting full strength and organization they still shown a half filled bar in unit interface that says "reserve troop" - does this affect anything? Are thes troops different from others? I sthis bar "reserve" disappearing anytime?
    1 & 2. Military Access does not allow you to attack out of neutral countries, only to move through them to another controlled location... you cannot cross a neutral border in arms. This is entirely reasonable, since Italy would be guilty of an act of war by allowing it. Units in neutral countries receive no supply, so they need to cross the neutral territory and exit before running out of supply. Military access is basically useless, except to escape with units that would otherwise be doomed. Units in allied countries draw their supply and fuel from the capital of the owner of that allied country, and you "reimburse" him by transferring the same amount of supply and fuel from your capital to his. This means that military operations in overseas dependancies of an ally are extremely difficult, and you will often run out of supply and fuel... in Albania and Cyrenacia, you are depending on the Italians to ship you fuel across the Med, and they may or may not do it. It is difficult or impossible to run an Afrika Korps in this game, unless you diplomatically lend the forces to Italy instead of controlling them yourself.

    3. You can't. Convoys can only be designated between Ports that you control. You don't control any of Italy's Ports... they do.

    4. The reserve icon has no effect on your units after mobilization. It only remains on the unit as a reminder that once the war is over and you demobilize, this unit will be returned to reserve, and partial strength.
    "To punish me for my contempt for authority, they made me an authority myself" - Albert Einstein

    My Demi-Mod color is GOLD. If I'm posting in this color, I'm not just being a jerk. I use WHITE for that.

    "The Game"... my first AAR. Armageddon v1.2 Mod-34, Germany.
    Winner, Q2-2008 HOI-2 Comedy Award.
    Winner, 2008 Iron HeAARt Award for the best HOI-2 AAR of 2008.
    Autocrat of Earth in the Forum Game "Ad Astra"
    Welcome to BloodCarnage... Hope you like snakes! - A Dwarf Fortress succession game.

  9. #9
    Alternative plan: Try to conquer a port at the med (yugoslavia, probably). Do it either before WW2 starts and transfer a fleet there (gibraltar is passable for you, as long as you are not at war with the UK), or build a new fleet and deploy it there. Then take your ´Afrika-Korps´ and land it at an enemy port, which you yourself must capture and control afterwards. Palestine might be a suitable location. This way, you get your own little ´theater´ in which you will be able to supply your own troops and not have to rely on the italians to do it.

  10. #10
    Thanks "blue emu" and "Jazumir" - that explains everything. I thought, "militaria access" provides more things..

    In my game, i have troops near Tobruk and Italians are allied and own Tobruk. Because of this i should gather Supply from Italians from "Tobruk" - is this true?
    blue emu wrote.. "..they may or may not do" - is this the reason i get no supply for my troops near Tobruk? Italians will not?

    In my last save game, i captured the city 5-6 provinces left of Tobruk. Don´t know the name of it actually.. But city got a port and it´s mine now. I thought, i can built convois between ports(cities) which i control. For that it should be possible to bulit a supply convoi from Wilhelmshaven to this port in africa. But, this port isn´t shown in interface for convoi target ports. Why? Is port not shown because i didn´t control Gibraltar? Is this the reason, or are my thoughts on HOI´s supply system completely incorrect?

    @Jazumir
    Good idea, now i think support over land provinces from germany makes a lot more sence than supply overseas.

    Thanks again

  11. #11
    GroFAZ Demi Moderator blue emu's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis 3Hearts of Iron IIIHearts of Iron III CollectionHeir to the Throne
    Europa Universalis: RomeHoi 2 Beta500k club

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Woodstock N.B. Canada
    Posts
    16,808
    Quote Originally Posted by sossenbinder View Post
    Thanks "blue emu" and "Jazumir" - that explains everything. I thought, "militaria access" provides more things..

    In my game, i have troops near Tobruk and Italians are allied and own Tobruk. Because of this i should gather Supply from Italians from "Tobruk" - is this true?
    blue emu wrote.. "..they may or may not do" - is this the reason i get no supply for my troops near Tobruk? Italians will not?
    Supplies are stockpiled in the capital (Berlin, Rome), and must be shipped to an overseas Port in order to reach the forces in the field. You cannot draw supply FROM Tobruk, because it isn't Italy's capital... instead, you hope to draw supply THROUGH Tobruk (from Rome).

    Italy will give priority to supplying their own forces first... your "allied" German forces will only receive what's left over... quite possibly, nothing at all.

    Quote Originally Posted by sossenbinder View Post
    In my last save game, i captured the city 5-6 provinces left of Tobruk. Don´t know the name of it actually.. But city got a port and it´s mine now. I thought, i can built convois between ports(cities) which i control. For that it should be possible to bulit a supply convoi from Wilhelmshaven to this port in africa. But, this port isn´t shown in interface for convoi target ports. Why?
    If you captured that city by attacking from Italian territory, then it probably counts as an ITALIAN conquest, not as a German conquest... captured provinces are controlled by the nation that SUPPLIED the attack, not by the nation that provided the troops. Click on the province itself and check the flags... I'll bet that it is controlled by Italy, not by you. As I said before, you cannot run a supply convoy to a province that some other nation (such as Italy) controls.
    "To punish me for my contempt for authority, they made me an authority myself" - Albert Einstein

    My Demi-Mod color is GOLD. If I'm posting in this color, I'm not just being a jerk. I use WHITE for that.

    "The Game"... my first AAR. Armageddon v1.2 Mod-34, Germany.
    Winner, Q2-2008 HOI-2 Comedy Award.
    Winner, 2008 Iron HeAARt Award for the best HOI-2 AAR of 2008.
    Autocrat of Earth in the Forum Game "Ad Astra"
    Welcome to BloodCarnage... Hope you like snakes! - A Dwarf Fortress succession game.

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by blue emu View Post
    your "allied" German forces will only receive what's left over... quite possibly, nothing at all.
    ok, if they will, i get supply. if they don´t will i won´t get supply..

    Quote Originally Posted by blue emu View Post
    itself and check the flags
    it shows th flag of the country and it shows the flag of germany - for that it should be a German conquest.. right? So, convois should work?
    Last edited by sossenbinder; 03-11-2010 at 11:52.

  13. #13
    I attached a screenshot of my game and you will see..


    Last edited by sossenbinder; 03-11-2010 at 11:53.

  14. #14
    GroFAZ Demi Moderator blue emu's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis 3Hearts of Iron IIIHearts of Iron III CollectionHeir to the Throne
    Europa Universalis: RomeHoi 2 Beta500k club

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Woodstock N.B. Canada
    Posts
    16,808
    Do you control Gibraltar? Your convoys can only pass from Wilhelmshaven to Alexandria if you control Gibraltar... otherwise, they must start and end inside the Med.

    Do you own a Port on the Med which has a land-route to Berlin? You need to get supplies over-land from Berlin to the Port, then from the Port (by convoy) to Alexandria.

    How many Convoy ships do you have available? Have you been building Convoys and Escorts?
    "To punish me for my contempt for authority, they made me an authority myself" - Albert Einstein

    My Demi-Mod color is GOLD. If I'm posting in this color, I'm not just being a jerk. I use WHITE for that.

    "The Game"... my first AAR. Armageddon v1.2 Mod-34, Germany.
    Winner, Q2-2008 HOI-2 Comedy Award.
    Winner, 2008 Iron HeAARt Award for the best HOI-2 AAR of 2008.
    Autocrat of Earth in the Forum Game "Ad Astra"
    Welcome to BloodCarnage... Hope you like snakes! - A Dwarf Fortress succession game.

  15. #15
    Now i started savegame again and now target port was there.. a bug or did it take a time to appear in convoi-interface?
    No, i build no convois. I have enough of them..

    Here the convois:


    These are my two captured cities with ports:


    Now i built a new one (from..):


    Now i built a new one (to..):


    Set ships for convoi:


    But it doesn´t so anything.. it says "is transporting nothing yesterday":


    Hm, where is my mistake on it..!?!?

  16. #16
    GroFAZ Demi Moderator blue emu's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis 3Hearts of Iron IIIHearts of Iron III CollectionHeir to the Throne
    Europa Universalis: RomeHoi 2 Beta500k club

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Woodstock N.B. Canada
    Posts
    16,808
    Did you let a few days go by? Convoy requests are processed at midnight (00:00 GMT), and supply shipments move one province per day over-land, and take one day to ship by sea.

    ... so if Berlin is five provinces from Wilhelmshaven, it will take about a week for the shipment to arrive (five days Berlin => Wilhelmshaven, one day Wilhelmshaven => Alexandria).
    "To punish me for my contempt for authority, they made me an authority myself" - Albert Einstein

    My Demi-Mod color is GOLD. If I'm posting in this color, I'm not just being a jerk. I use WHITE for that.

    "The Game"... my first AAR. Armageddon v1.2 Mod-34, Germany.
    Winner, Q2-2008 HOI-2 Comedy Award.
    Winner, 2008 Iron HeAARt Award for the best HOI-2 AAR of 2008.
    Autocrat of Earth in the Forum Game "Ad Astra"
    Welcome to BloodCarnage... Hope you like snakes! - A Dwarf Fortress succession game.

  17. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by blue emu View Post
    Did you let a few days go by? Convoy requests are processed at midnight (00:00 GMT), and supply shipments move one province per day over-land, and take one day to ship by sea.

    ... so if Berlin is five provinces from Wilhelmshaven, it will take about a week for the shipment to arrive (five days Berlin => Wilhelmshaven, one day Wilhelmshaven => Alexandria).
    Yes, i waited a month and same effect.. when i look in supply map mode, i only see my other convoi-routes. but i did not see this new route to africa..

    ps: i insalled SF with newest beta patch without mods

  18. #18
    Second Lieutenant Séb.D's Avatar
    Arsenal of DemocracyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteDivine Wind
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneSemper Fi
    Sword of the StarsSword of the Stars II

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Québec City
    Posts
    156
    If I'm not wrong, you're trying to ship supplies from Wilhemshaven to El Iskandarîya without owning the Gibraltar. Since the Brits are blocking the strait, your ships can't go through.

  19. #19
    Field Marshal OKH's Avatar
    Hearts of Iron III

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    3,039
    I noticed that you are using HARM....in Egypt. You are already challenged with logistical issues....perhaps leaving them in Poland or France would be a better way to go.

  20. #20
    Could it be that the supplies are going via Suez. Not sure how that works, but since he owns 1 side and not the other....

    Also if you have many air transports, you could send in limited supplies by air as well. Not best case, but at least it gets your troops moving. I have always been able to supply from ITA airfields this way. (Should note, ITA not at war but is in faction)

    BTW - when I declare limited war I am able to attack from area east of Tobruk and have captured Eygpt and it is under German control. I also paradrop from an ITA airfield and take Malta almost immediately to ease the UK pressure in the Med as well. So once I take the Suez, UK is based only in West Med and Gibraltor, with small presence to be mopped up in Palestine area.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts