Closed Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 21 to 40 of 40

Thread: Game run really slow at later stages

  1. #21
    Caramelised Utopian tuore's Avatar
    200k clubArsenal of DemocracyCrusader Kings IIDarkest HourDeus Vult
    EU3 CompleteDivine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest Hour
    Heir to the ThroneThe Kings CrusadeLost Empire - ImmortalsMagickaMarch of the Eagles
    Victoria: RevolutionsRome GoldSemper FiSupreme Ruler: Cold WarVictoria 2
    Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessMount & Blade: WarbandMount & Blade: With Fire and Sword500k club
    Europa Universalis IV: Pre-orderEUIV: Call to arms event

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    6,983
    Quote Originally Posted by Fish Hunter View Post
    In the long run Paradox will get a bad reputation for being the company selling slow laggy games...
    No, they won't. I imagine they'll do a few expansions to their games, then they'll do the next-gen engine, which will support multicore.
    And strange, GTA 4 and the EFLC expansions were one of the worst optimized games I've ever played, and yet Rockstar is considered as an awesome game maker. But maybe it isn't correct to compare Rockstar to Paradox.
    1914-1964 - the Ultimate Strategy Game


  2. #22
    Yes, a definite game-killer for me. It is almost manageable when you are at peace, but during war or when you have to put down multi rebellions I am really close to demanding my money back (this despite the fact that, slowness aside, this is a great game!). And, the sad thing is, don't think this is something that can addressed in a patch.
    . Only the lazy did not defeat the Germans.
    -War and Peace

    Can your heart stand the shocking facts of the true story of grave robbers from outer space?
    -Plan 9 from Outer Space

    What can you expect when you're on top? You know? It's like Napoleon. When he was the king, you know, people were just constantly trying to conquer him, you know, in the Roman Empire. So, it's history repeating itself all over again.
    -Dirk Diggler

  3. #23
    Left-tenant Sovetskysoyuz's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteDivine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron III
    HOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneMagickaMarch of the EaglesSemper Fi
    SengokuVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessWar of the Roses
    Pride of Nations500k clubEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Shearwater, NS, Canada
    Posts
    774
    People who are experiencing lag: what speed are you running the game at?

    I use the middle setting, dropping to one below it during wars (to avoid missing something). I've made it past 1900, and the lag doesn't seem noticeably worse than it was in 1850 and can always be fixed by alt-tabbing out of the game, then alt-tabbing back in. Britain just DOWed the US, and I didn't notice much of a slowdown even though they have 1400 brigades to play with.

    2.4 GHz Core 2 Duo
    2 GB RAM
    GeForce 9600M
    Win XP

    (i.e. my computer is just a bit above the minimum requirements)
    "A series of parabolas is plotted out, the mortar supporting one leg and exploding Germans supporting the opposite. Ask a Russian engineer to design you a shoe, and he'll give you something that looks like the box the shoe came in. Ask him to design something that will slaughter Germans, and he turns into Thomas ----ing Edison."
    Neal Stephenson, Cryptonomicon

    A Mari Usque Ad Mare: a Canada Flavour Mod for Vicky II. Now updated for AHD!

  4. #24
    Quote Originally Posted by Sovetskysoyuz View Post
    People who are experiencing lag: what speed are you running the game at?

    I use the middle setting, dropping to one below it during wars (to avoid missing something).
    I am trying to play at maximum. Are you suggesting it will be faster if I move to slower speed? Seems a bit counterintuitive.
    . Only the lazy did not defeat the Germans.
    -War and Peace

    Can your heart stand the shocking facts of the true story of grave robbers from outer space?
    -Plan 9 from Outer Space

    What can you expect when you're on top? You know? It's like Napoleon. When he was the king, you know, people were just constantly trying to conquer him, you know, in the Roman Empire. So, it's history repeating itself all over again.
    -Dirk Diggler

  5. #25
    Left-tenant Sovetskysoyuz's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteDivine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron III
    HOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneMagickaMarch of the EaglesSemper Fi
    SengokuVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessWar of the Roses
    Pride of Nations500k clubEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Shearwater, NS, Canada
    Posts
    774
    Quote Originally Posted by webbrave View Post
    I am trying to play at maximum. Are you suggesting it will be faster if I move to slower speed? Seems a bit counterintuitive.
    It won't be faster, but it will be less laggy. Your computer, like anyone's, can only do so much work per unit time. With the game at maximum speed, the CPU is tripping over itself trying to spew out numbers, and is too busy to update the interface properly or accept new commands without lagging. Playing at slower speeds, the game will take longer per day than at max speed, but the interface will be much smoother and the game will be more responsive.

    Of course, most of my playtime has been with GPs, where there's always two or three things to be doing. If you're playing a smaller nation, I could see playing on slower settings becoming boring.
    "A series of parabolas is plotted out, the mortar supporting one leg and exploding Germans supporting the opposite. Ask a Russian engineer to design you a shoe, and he'll give you something that looks like the box the shoe came in. Ask him to design something that will slaughter Germans, and he turns into Thomas ----ing Edison."
    Neal Stephenson, Cryptonomicon

    A Mari Usque Ad Mare: a Canada Flavour Mod for Vicky II. Now updated for AHD!

  6. #26
    Quote Originally Posted by Sovetskysoyuz View Post
    People who are experiencing lag: what speed are you running the game at?

    I use the middle setting, dropping to one below it during wars (to avoid missing something). I've made it past 1900, and the lag doesn't seem noticeably worse than it was in 1850 and can always be fixed by alt-tabbing out of the game, then alt-tabbing back in. Britain just DOWed the US, and I didn't notice much of a slowdown even though they have 1400 brigades to play with.

    2.4 GHz Core 2 Duo
    2 GB RAM
    GeForce 9600M
    Win XP

    (i.e. my computer is just a bit above the minimum requirements)
    Well i'm using E6600 2.4@3.0/ EVGA 460 GTX/ 6GB RAM/ and i run it at speed of two arrows. It was unplayable at the end but i finished it

  7. #27
    Colonel Doppelsoldner's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDeus VultEU3 CompleteDivine WindFor the Motherland
    Hearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneMarch of the EaglesVictoria: Revolutions
    Rome GoldSemper FiSengokuVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided
    Victoria II: Heart of DarknessPride of NationsEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    948

    Game bogging... Slowing considerably

    It works pretty well until about 1850's... At this point, it goes from good to really bad within about a minute. Have any of you had this problem?

    EVGA 8400 GS
    E4500 Intel
    3 Gig DDR2
    "A man does not have himself killed for a half pence a day, or for a petty distinction. You must speak to the soul in order to electrify him."

    ~Napoleon Bonaparte~

  8. #28
    Same here, I think its to do with some big wars breaking out worldwide. I find that it tends to improve after a bit. And sometimes slowing the speed down makes it less jerky and more playable while running at essentially the same speed.

  9. #29
    General Van Diemen's Avatar
    Cities in Motion 2Crusader Kings IIFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest Hour
    Europa Universalis III: In NomineEU3 Napoleon's AmbitionEuropa Universalis: RomeSemper FiSword of the Stars II
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessRome: Vae VictisMount & Blade: Warband
    Pride of Nations500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,248
    Also later in the game, there tend to be more military units active and sometimes also some more countries. Furthermore as the pops grow and move across the globe they tend to require some additional calculations (not to mention the industrial expansion).
    The HRE Revised Mod is a Holy Roman Empire and CKII balance mod aimed to stop want to be despot emperors in their tracks

    Try the 3.4 version of the Age of Colonialism mod for Victoria II v1.4 beta 26 sept 2011

  10. #30
    Quote Originally Posted by Halk View Post
    That really depends on what you consider mainstream. At that point new mid to high end computers were dual core, I consider that to be mainstream. Designing an engine which was to be used going forward at that point should have allowed for multicore processors.
    IIRC the engine was developed quite a while before the first Core 2 Duos were released. I don't think it's reasonable to call dual cores mainstream before that.
    It's not that there aren't enough hours in the day. Just that I'm not awake for enough of the ones already available. - Karen Ellis

    You may also know/hate me as Semaphore >.> <.<

  11. #31
    It isn't so bad for me. I think paradox should decrease maximum speed so the interface is less laggy.

  12. #32
    Captain Crerar's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis 3EU3 CompleteFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron III
    HOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In NomineEU3 Napoleon's AmbitionVictoria: Revolutions
    Europa Universalis: RomeSemper FiVictoria 2500k clubEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    320
    Quote Originally Posted by rmdsc View Post
    We can only wait and hope Paradox can optimise Vicky like what they did for HoI3. Although, your descriptions sound really bad; I'm on a 4 year old machine and it doesn't feel like it gets that slow.
    They fixed HOI3?! I played it for about an agonizing 20 minutes before I left the game for good. Then I went back to playing Dragon Age Origins and Mass Effect 2 on full settings.

  13. #33
    General Van Diemen's Avatar
    Cities in Motion 2Crusader Kings IIFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest Hour
    Europa Universalis III: In NomineEU3 Napoleon's AmbitionEuropa Universalis: RomeSemper FiSword of the Stars II
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessRome: Vae VictisMount & Blade: Warband
    Pride of Nations500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,248
    Quote Originally Posted by Crerar View Post
    They fixed HOI3?! I played it for about an agonizing 20 minutes before I left the game for good. Then I went back to playing Dragon Age Origins and Mass Effect 2 on full settings.
    We all know that paradox games are pretty demanding (if you want to play on decent speed later in the game) on the CPU. Mass Effect 2, eventhough it is a demanding game doesn't require the CPU as intensive compared to Victoria II for example and relies more on the GPU. Also most games that were made with newer engines benefit from multiple core processors, paradox games made with the Clauswitz engine still don't.

    But, yeah they did improve HoI3 considerably performance wise, though in most cases that improvement was due to fixing memory leaks and removal of unnecessary AI diplomacy and trade frequencies. Though for Victoria II I don't have high hopes that the game can improve further. It is currently very stable, might contain a few memory leaks but nothing compared to HoI3 and it seems that game only needs to have a more active AI in future patches, demanding yet more from the processor. I would already be pretty satisfied if they can improve the AI further without adding additional performance issues.
    Last edited by Van Diemen; 14-09-2010 at 17:56.
    The HRE Revised Mod is a Holy Roman Empire and CKII balance mod aimed to stop want to be despot emperors in their tracks

    Try the 3.4 version of the Age of Colonialism mod for Victoria II v1.4 beta 26 sept 2011

  14. #34
    Bah, Paradox games always slow down the further along they get. That's par for the course. It's to be expected. If you can't handle it, don't play Paradox games.

    Now, having said that, there are some things that will help. I have also noticed that the next to highest speed setting runs a little smoother, so that's something you can do. I have also noticed that marathon play sessions don't help...so take a break, exit to desktop, go get a drink, reboot and things should be running much smoother. Also, I'm sure Paradox will come out with a few fixes here and there, tweaking performance. I have also gone back and played older games, such as Vic1 and CK on newer machines and they do run quite a bit smooother.

    With games as complex as Paradox puts out, I'm more amazed that they run at all, at any speed. The sheer amount of data processed is mind boggling. Pop demands, moving AI armies around, calculating daily fluctuations in tax revenue, calculating interest on loans, deciding whether to pop a random event today or tomorrow, managing the world market, etc etc etc etc. All of these games, from EU1 to Victoria to Crusader Kings to EU3 to Vic2 are probably some of the most sophisticated and complex world models that have ever been put out, outside of government think tanks doing weather system simulations on IBM super computers or something. And they run on standard home PCs. That's pretty awesome, if you ask me.
    When you read this message, please smile and nod your head as if you just read something witty and insightful.

  15. #35
    Captain The_Tom's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteDivine WindHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the Throne
    Semper FiVictoria 2500k clubEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Vicinity of North America
    Posts
    494
    There's a simple fix here.

    Problem solved for me. No noticable lag as of 1903.

  16. #36
    Quote Originally Posted by webbrave View Post
    I am trying to play at maximum
    Whoa. No wonder people have already played through several games! Ive played at the slowest speed since day one, and I'm still on my first game.

    /offtopic

  17. #37
    Colonel Doppelsoldner's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDeus VultEU3 CompleteDivine WindFor the Motherland
    Hearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneMarch of the EaglesVictoria: Revolutions
    Rome GoldSemper FiSengokuVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided
    Victoria II: Heart of DarknessPride of NationsEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    948
    Quote Originally Posted by Hagie Sophia View Post
    Bah, Paradox games always slow down the further along they get. That's par for the course. It's to be expected. If you can't handle it, don't play Paradox games.

    Now, having said that, there are some things that will help. I have also noticed that the next to highest speed setting runs a little smoother, so that's something you can do. I have also noticed that marathon play sessions don't help...so take a break, exit to desktop, go get a drink, reboot and things should be running much smoother. Also, I'm sure Paradox will come out with a few fixes here and there, tweaking performance. I have also gone back and played older games, such as Vic1 and CK on newer machines and they do run quite a bit smooother.

    With games as complex as Paradox puts out, I'm more amazed that they run at all, at any speed. The sheer amount of data processed is mind boggling. Pop demands, moving AI armies around, calculating daily fluctuations in tax revenue, calculating interest on loans, deciding whether to pop a random event today or tomorrow, managing the world market, etc etc etc etc. All of these games, from EU1 to Victoria to Crusader Kings to EU3 to Vic2 are probably some of the most sophisticated and complex world models that have ever been put out, outside of government think tanks doing weather system simulations on IBM super computers or something. And they run on standard home PCs. That's pretty awesome, if you ask me.
    Agreed. My PC is only about 2007 worthy and I just found out that my GPU was malfunctioning and causing the game to slow down. Not surprizingly, it was a marathon run. And probobly overheated the card.

    Still, I agree completely, these guys know how to program a game, and I think how CPU intensive these games are, I'm amazed that they play at all as well.

    Also surprizing is the fact that it is in RTS format rather than TBS, which also slows the game down.

    Long live Paradox Interactive!
    "A man does not have himself killed for a half pence a day, or for a petty distinction. You must speak to the soul in order to electrify him."

    ~Napoleon Bonaparte~

  18. #38
    Captain Nachtwesen's Avatar
    Europa Universalis: ChroniclesHearts of Iron III CollectionHOI3: Their Finest HourSupreme Ruler 2020 GoldVictoria 2
    500k clubEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Lbeck, Germany
    Posts
    352
    Sadly I have that problem lately with Victoria II and the WIP Mod. I player over 100 years and now the game runs extremly slow. Its sad :/

  19. #39
    Colonel Thracian's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteHearts of Iron IIIMarch of the EaglesSengoku
    Victoria 2500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-orderEUIV: Call to arms event

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Byzantium
    Posts
    1,196
    disk defrag helps a little (but only a little)

  20. #40
    Master of MegaSlavia Demi Moderator RedRalphWiggum's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    15,822
    Do not necro. Also, if your post is about a mod then make it in the appropriate sub-forum.

Closed Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts