+ Reply to Thread

Thread: How to build a great army?

Achtung PanzerArsenal of DemocracyDarkest HourEU3 CompleteHearts of Iron III
    Hearts of Iron III CollectionHOI3: Their Finest HourVictoria: RevolutionsSupreme Ruler 2020 Gold

How to build a great army?

I'm kind of new to Victoria so I'm just interested in all the simple steps that must be done to build the largest potential army of your country.

High military spending is necessary to recruit soldiers, I got that. As Greece however I never got the opportunity to mobilize, not even when I was at war. Don't now why.

And a very high military spending did not give me the expected results either. In Victoria 1 one could just directly convert farmers (I think) to soldiers, in addition to mobilizing. I haven't seen anything like that in Victoria 2. So, since I just want to crush the Ottoman Empire as Greece (the post war economic consequences aside), and only were able to muster some 20 - 30 000 soldiers I was the one getting crushed you see

Increasing your military spending won't get you more soldiers...well, you'll get more soldiers but they'll all promote to officers because of the enormous amounts of money you give them. Keep the military slider at 50-60% for best results. Decrease it if you see that your officer pool increases above 0.20% (can be seen when hovering your mouse over the "leadership" pool). Mobilization depends on how many of your poor strata you can mobilize, it's increased with technologies and reduced with liberal ideaologies. You can mobilize right under the "build army" button.

200k clubCrusader Kings IIFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest Hour
    Semper FiSword of the StarsVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness
    V2 BetaV2 AHD Beta500k clubEuropa Universalis IVEUIV: Wealth of Nations
    EUIV: Conquest of ParadiseEUIV: Res PublicaEUIV: Art of War

Blog Entries
    What he said.

Plus ... diplomacy.