Closed Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 81

Thread: Why only generic unit pictures now??? (Update : Paradox aware of problem)

  1. #1
    de Vauban Saint-Exupéry's Avatar
    HoI AnthologyArsenal of DemocracyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonDarkest HourFor the Motherland
    Hearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourIron CrossSemper Fi

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Villers-Bocage
    Posts
    1,543

    Why only generic unit pictures now??? (Update : Paradox aware of problem)

    Why are you doing this to me Paradox?

    Yes, semper-Fi isi good, very good .

    But I installed and noticed that all pictures for models are again generic,but now in the way that absolutely no one picture of model is correct.
    I am playing Germany and one single german unit model isnt there.

    Then I tried to use Major nations Immersion mod,which I used in HOI III, but game crashes when I use this graphic mod.
    Its incompatible with Semper and I must wait for someone to deliver semper-Fi compatible graphic mod.


    Why?One single damn picture of german model for tank, infantry..
    Why dont you include as appendinx of sprite pack..?
    I will PAY for model pictures if needed...

    I simply cant play, I cant swallow T 34 as panzer III, and japan or italian militia beating some chinese peasants(it looks to me like that) as model picture for german AA brigade....
    Has anyone tried some other graphic for Semper-Fi?
    .................................................. .................................................. ..............................................


    EDITED 8 hours after:

    Ok, I closed my eyes for fiew hours to refresh after the D-Night.

    Now I actualy play S-F,I must be honest.

    Now I feel sad I strike in first dawn of release making accent on relatively minor graphic problem.
    But I realy need that for immersion,and is,anintentionaly I am sure, even worse than in original HOI III.

    Maybee I am not fair,those guys from Paradox made great effort,and one is clearly observable,Semper-Fi game generaly is great improvement.
    Its totaly different game..and though being critic,to anyone who reads this and who didnt obtain S-F, I only can recommend it.

    Exactly becouse of this ,problem adressed in this thread became more prominent,maybe actualy stayed one of the fiew last ansolved problems?
    It could be,Semper realy is mighty.

    I see King sad they will work on the problem,and other officals to in the meantime noted the problem
    Last edited by Saint-Exupéry; 06-06-2010 at 10:43.
    “A life spent making mistakes is not only more honorable, but more useful than a life spent doing nothing.” ― George Bernard Shaw

  2. #2
    Yeah, I forgot to mention that in my thread. All the model pictures are generic

  3. #3
    Major Jorath13's Avatar
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourSemper Fi

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Corona, California
    Posts
    578
    Are you talking about the sprites? That they're all generic now? Is it possible to simply reload the sprites from HoI3 original? And did you try a complete new installation of HoI 3 plus expansion plus the mod you wish to try?

    If not the sprites, do you mean the pictures in the technology folder?
    -----------------------------------------------
    Warriors aren't born stupid...they're made that way!

    How the East was Won (1936 - ?) HoI 1 Japanese AAR using CORE latest mod.

  4. #4
    The photos of the unit itself when you select it are all generic.

  5. #5
    de Vauban Saint-Exupéry's Avatar
    HoI AnthologyArsenal of DemocracyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonDarkest HourFor the Motherland
    Hearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourIron CrossSemper Fi

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Villers-Bocage
    Posts
    1,543
    Quote Originally Posted by Jorath13 View Post
    Are you talking about the sprites? That they're all generic now? Is it possible to simply reload the sprites from HoI3 original? And did you try a complete new installation of HoI 3 plus expansion plus the mod you wish to try?

    If not the sprites, do you mean the pictures in the technology folder?
    Black-white small photos of units.....
    “A life spent making mistakes is not only more honorable, but more useful than a life spent doing nothing.” ― George Bernard Shaw

  6. #6
    No he talk about the pic u see when checking for info on a unit or decide to build one. This is asked for from hoi3 relase but ignored. Wow I really looking forward to this addon. Not.

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by wolf1455 View Post
    No he talk about the pic u see when checking for info on a unit or decide to build one. This is asked for from hoi3 relase but ignored. Wow I really looking forward to this addon. Not.
    x2

    I suppose that not a single leader has been added to historically solve the cronic lack of military leaders, despite thousands of names,pictures and careers are available in different places through the web. Hope Im wrong on this one, but Im not at all optimistic

  8. #8
    Major Jorath13's Avatar
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourSemper Fi

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Corona, California
    Posts
    578
    *shrug* Don't know what else to say then, other than just wait for the modders to catch up. Shouldn't take them long though - probably a few days to link pics to files.
    -----------------------------------------------
    Warriors aren't born stupid...they're made that way!

    How the East was Won (1936 - ?) HoI 1 Japanese AAR using CORE latest mod.

  9. #9
    de Vauban Saint-Exupéry's Avatar
    HoI AnthologyArsenal of DemocracyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonDarkest HourFor the Motherland
    Hearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourIron CrossSemper Fi

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Villers-Bocage
    Posts
    1,543
    Quote Originally Posted by Jorath13 View Post
    *shrug* Don't know what else to say then, other than just wait for the modders to catch up. Shouldn't take them long though - probably a few days to link pics to files.
    I tried Major nation immersion pack(worked well in HOI III) and it freezed my computer,I needed to reset computer, it freezed everything.
    “A life spent making mistakes is not only more honorable, but more useful than a life spent doing nothing.” ― George Bernard Shaw

  10. #10
    Major Jorath13's Avatar
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourSemper Fi

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Corona, California
    Posts
    578
    Quote Originally Posted by Saint-Exupéry View Post
    I tried Major nation immersion pack(worked well in HOI III) and it freezed my computer,I needed to reset computer, it freezed everything.
    Again: Did you reinstall HoI3, then install SF, then install the mod? I'm not saying that will work as I don't have SF, but seems to me SF overwrites alot of stuff that MNIP would need to work right. It also has been par for the course that each new HoI3 addition mucks things up if you're a mod user. Its just better to reinstall, reinstall, reinstall. Hence why I keep a vanilla copy of HoI3 (with current patches) in another folder on my hard drive. Delete mod-encrusted HoI3, copy/paste new version...viola!
    -----------------------------------------------
    Warriors aren't born stupid...they're made that way!

    How the East was Won (1936 - ?) HoI 1 Japanese AAR using CORE latest mod.

  11. #11
    de Vauban Saint-Exupéry's Avatar
    HoI AnthologyArsenal of DemocracyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonDarkest HourFor the Motherland
    Hearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourIron CrossSemper Fi

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Villers-Bocage
    Posts
    1,543
    Quote Originally Posted by Jorath13 View Post
    Again: Did you reinstall HoI3, then install SF, then install the mod? I'm not saying that will work as I don't have SF, but seems to me SF overwrites alot of stuff that MNIP would need to work right. It also has been par for the course that each new HoI3 addition mucks things up if you're a mod user. Its just better to reinstall, reinstall, reinstall. Hence why I keep a vanilla copy of HoI3 (with current patches) in another folder on my hard drive. Delete mod-encrusted HoI3, copy/paste new version...viola!
    Fresh new HOI III, Fresh New S-F- and than Major Nations immersion mod...

    No ,dont work believe me.

    But thats not the problem here,guys will modiffy it for Semper.Fi..

    Problem is how they can make such game with generic russian tank(bad quality pic!) as German model etc...
    “A life spent making mistakes is not only more honorable, but more useful than a life spent doing nothing.” ― George Bernard Shaw

  12. #12
    Perhaps because other things were more important, like new game features?

  13. #13
    Major Jorath13's Avatar
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourSemper Fi

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Corona, California
    Posts
    578
    Ok, so you did try the best thing you could do. Until modders "fix" this issue for you, you've only got 2 choices as I see it.

    1) Don't play the game until the modders come riding to your rescue. Shouldn't be long - like I said in another post they've got the pics, they just need to link them now to the correct file names.

    2) Play the game, covering your eyes every time you click on a unit. :P
    -----------------------------------------------
    Warriors aren't born stupid...they're made that way!

    How the East was Won (1936 - ?) HoI 1 Japanese AAR using CORE latest mod.

  14. #14
    Reichsmarschall Paradox Dev Team Darkrenown's Avatar
    200k clubHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonDeus VultEast India CompanyEuropa Universalis 3
    Europa Universalis: ChroniclesDivine WindFor The GloryFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron III
    Hearts of Iron III CollectionHOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In NomineLost Empire - Immortals
    EU3 Napoleon's AmbitionEuropa Universalis: RomeSemper FiSengokuShip Simulator Extremes
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessRome: Vae Victis

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Berlin Destaliniation plant
    Posts
    23,260
    Yes, the lack of some small photos on the brigade details screen RUINS THE GAME!
    Relentless madman.

  15. #15
    I beleive that this is the first SF complaint thread!

    Good to see its for something as inane as unit pictures, game must be in a pretty good state for that to be the most pressing thing on peoples minds.

  16. #16
    Colonel him_15's Avatar
    HoI AnthologyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonHearts of Iron IIIHearts of Iron III CollectionHOI3: Their Finest Hour
    Semper Fi

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    927
    This problem exists since the release of HOI3, and yes is it annoying Paradox has to intention to fix it. Now just wait for the update vision of mod.

  17. #17
    de Vauban Saint-Exupéry's Avatar
    HoI AnthologyArsenal of DemocracyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonDarkest HourFor the Motherland
    Hearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourIron CrossSemper Fi

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Villers-Bocage
    Posts
    1,543
    Guys dont be anfair, I called intentionaly thread a "minor problem".

    And I aclaimed Semper-Fi.

    Game is good, but I cant involve myself in game enviroment looking on horror.

    Its worse than in HOI III,why I dont know.Its simply worse, in HOI III at least I had wrong german tank pic, now is russian pre-war tank instead german....


    And, like it or not,this exactly is one of the fiew,and maybee one single issue noted before that has not being solved,actualy worsened.

    If it is all solved in SF, than stayes this issue, lets stick it
    “A life spent making mistakes is not only more honorable, but more useful than a life spent doing nothing.” ― George Bernard Shaw

  18. #18
    HoI3 SF LUA Developer Demi Moderator Lothos's Avatar
    63 games registered

    63

    Achtung PanzerArsenal of DemocracyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCities in Motion 2Crusader Kings II
    Commander: Conquest of the AmericasDarkest HourDeus VultDungeonlandEast India Company Collection
    Elven Legacy CollectionEU3 CompleteFor The GloryFor the MotherlandGalactic Assault
    HOI3: Their Finest HourImpireIron CrossKing Arthur IILead and Gold
    LegioThe Kings CrusadeLost Empire - ImmortalsMagickaMajesty 2
    March of the EaglesPenumbra - Black PlaguePirates of Black CoveVictoria: RevolutionsRome Gold
    Semper FiShip Simulator ExtremesSword of the StarsSword of the Stars IISupreme Ruler 2020 Gold
    Supreme Ruler: Cold WarThe Showdown EffectVictoria II: Heart of DarknessRome: Vae VictisMount & Blade: Warband
    Warlock: Master of the ArcaneWar of the RosesRise of PrussiaHoi 2 Beta500k club
    EUIV: Call to arms eventWar of the VikingsWarlock 2: The ExiledEUIV: Wealth of Nations

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    USA, Maryland
    Posts
    10,489
    THat has got be the one of the silliest reasons to not like a game. The picture is wrong so its a horrible game? Guess doesn't matter it works good and plays good.

    *rolls eyes*
    HoI3 (FTM, TFH) LUA AI Developer
    HoI2 Lead Script AI Developer
    TRP Download Page
    TRP for HoI 3

    Great post about TRP for HoI 3

    "I don't care what the newspapers say about me as long as they spell my name right."!

  19. #19
    de Vauban Saint-Exupéry's Avatar
    HoI AnthologyArsenal of DemocracyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonDarkest HourFor the Motherland
    Hearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourIron CrossSemper Fi

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Villers-Bocage
    Posts
    1,543
    Quote Originally Posted by Lothos View Post
    THat has got be the one of the silliest reasons to not like a game. The picture is wrong so its a horrible game? Guess doesn't matter it works good and plays good.

    *rolls eyes*
    Well I realy dont know why I deserved
    this rection from you sir.

    Did I tell game is horrible,proove it,where did I tell this?

    I adressed specific problem,and since those pictures are in game, they have a purpouse .

    Or you want to say those pictures have no purpose???

    If they have no purpose,than lets remove them.
    Last edited by Saint-Exupéry; 06-06-2010 at 03:47.
    “A life spent making mistakes is not only more honorable, but more useful than a life spent doing nothing.” ― George Bernard Shaw

  20. #20
    Reichsmarschall Paradox Dev Team Darkrenown's Avatar
    200k clubHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonDeus VultEast India CompanyEuropa Universalis 3
    Europa Universalis: ChroniclesDivine WindFor The GloryFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron III
    Hearts of Iron III CollectionHOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In NomineLost Empire - Immortals
    EU3 Napoleon's AmbitionEuropa Universalis: RomeSemper FiSengokuShip Simulator Extremes
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessRome: Vae Victis

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Berlin Destaliniation plant
    Posts
    23,260
    Quote Originally Posted by Saint-Exupéry View Post
    Guys dont be anfair, I called intentionaly thread a "minor problem".
    Well yes, but then you go on to say how you "simply can't play" and "Problem is how they can make such game with generic russian tank(bad quality pic!) as German model etc..." etc.
    Relentless madman.

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts