+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: critical error 003: unable to create rendering engine

  1. #1
    Recruit
    Achtung Panzer

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    East coast of Iowa on the Mississippi
    Posts
    1

    Unhappy critical error 003: unable to create rendering engine

    purchased and downloaded from gamersgate 2-25-2010 have not been able to play as I get the above message. Win 7 dell 565 inspiron directx 9.0 but nothing fancy. What do I need to play this game?

  2. #2
    Quote Originally Posted by vitiges View Post
    purchased and downloaded from gamersgate 2-25-2010 have not been able to play as I get the above message. Win 7 dell 565 inspiron directx 9.0 but nothing fancy. What do I need to play this game?
    1) Try settings
    6.3 "Start in windowed mode" - checked
    6.11 "Hide desktop" - unchecked

    2) Try reduce 3D buffer resolution by 2.2 "3D buffer resolution" - set 1280x1024

    3) Uncheck 2.7 "High dynamic range"

  3. #3
    I get this error as well only when the battle ends and i try to go back to the operation screen. It exits out with this error outputted to a text file.

    The game is fine until then.

    Specs:

    Phenom II 4 @ 3.0GHz
    Nvidia 260/216
    8GB RAM
    Windows 7

    Would I have to do the above to get it to stop the errors as well?

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by salsendardo View Post
    Would I have to do the above to get it to stop the errors as well?
    Try settings
    6.11 "Hide desktop" - unchecked

  5. #5
    Sergeant Dima12345's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Kharkov
    Posts
    69
    Quote Originally Posted by vitiges View Post
    purchased and downloaded from gamersgate 2-25-2010 have not been able to play as I get the above message. Win 7 dell 565 inspiron directx 9.0 but nothing fancy. What do I need to play this game?
    If the game can't be laucnhed at all - then it seems that your directx files is not up to date. Try to update it - http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

  6. #6
    Corporal Wakner's Avatar
    200k clubAchtung PanzerA Game of DwarvesCities in MotionCrusader Kings II
    Deus VultEuropa Universalis 3EU3 CompleteDivine WindFor the Motherland
    Hearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneKing Arthur IIVictoria: Revolutions
    Europa Universalis: RomeSemper FiSengokuVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided
    Victoria II: Heart of DarknessRome: Vae VictisWar of the Roses500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Londinium,United Kingdom
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by vitiges View Post
    purchased and downloaded from gamersgate 2-25-2010 have not been able to play as I get the above message. Win 7 dell 565 inspiron directx 9.0 but nothing fancy. What do I need to play this game?
    Hi - I'm getting the same error after finishing a battle and clicking to go back to the tactical map/turn-based phase. I'm running a new build desktop with Win7 64, so machine spec is not an issue - I suspect one of the graphics settings. Will experiment and let you know.

    Cheers

    Ads

  7. #7
    Corporal Wakner's Avatar
    200k clubAchtung PanzerA Game of DwarvesCities in MotionCrusader Kings II
    Deus VultEuropa Universalis 3EU3 CompleteDivine WindFor the Motherland
    Hearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneKing Arthur IIVictoria: Revolutions
    Europa Universalis: RomeSemper FiSengokuVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided
    Victoria II: Heart of DarknessRome: Vae VictisWar of the Roses500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Londinium,United Kingdom
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by andrey12345 View Post
    Try settings
    6.11 "Hide desktop" - unchecked
    Thanks - changed this setting and its working fine now.

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Wakner View Post
    Thanks - changed this setting and its working fine now.
    Same here. Much appreciated!

  9. #9
    Private
    Achtung PanzerHearts of Iron IIIEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Posts
    11

    Critical error 003: Unable to create Rendering Engine

    I have just changed to Win 7 64-bit, and the game was working fine until this morning when I got this error message when launching the game.

    I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling the game (without patch) but still get same error immediately upon launching the game.

    Then tried installing patch with same result (although I do see the loading screen up to 18% before I get the error message).

    DirectX is updated to the February 2010 version.

    On accessing the Update Tool from the program menu, it says that "dev_updates" is "Not working!" with Version 0.00 listed. I try to install the desc.addpack, which seems to install OK, but then on clicking "Save and Play" it loads to 18% and then the error message above.

    Obviously I can't try some of the fixes listed in this thread, because I can't even get to the settings section.



    Any ideas, please?!!!

    DxDiag posted below, just in case...

    Thx,

    R
    Attached Files

  10. #10
    Uncheck hide desktop setting 6.11

  11. #11
    Private
    Achtung PanzerHearts of Iron IIIEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Posts
    11
    Thx for your reply, andrey12345, but I couldn't actually get into the game at all.

    Error message appeared during game loading.

    However, I've solved the problem by uninstalling (including [critically] deleting the game folder on the HD), reinstalling, and it works fine now.

    R

  12. #12
    Recruit
    Achtung Panzer

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    1

    Question critical error 003: unable to create rendering engine

    I am having this problem also. I cannot even start the game. When I start the game, this message appears in a notepad message. I have tried un-installing and re-installing. Also tried and succesfully downloaded current DirectX. Purchased through Direct2Drive. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks !

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by PAK42 View Post
    I am having this problem also. I cannot even start the game.
    What is your PC configuration and OS?

    Quote Originally Posted by PAK42 View Post
    When I start the game, this message appears in a notepad message. I have tried un-installing and re-installing. Also tried and succesfully downloaded current DirectX. Purchased through Direct2Drive. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks !
    DirectX - february 2010 ?

    Install latest videocard drivers.
    1) Press autodetect button in options
    2) Uncheck option 6.11
    3) Check option 6.8
    4) Check option 6.3
    5) Press apply button

  14. #14
    Audrey, I think it would help if all these settings and solutions be placed in a Sticky topic, especially since I anticipate many more new players as this game's status spreads.
    "Terror hearts out, always.
    Terror fabric, NEVER!"

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts