+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 45

Thread: HOI3 and linux?

  1. #21
    Thanks for all the work you some of you guys are doing trying to get HoI3 working under WINE - as a linux user i will definitely be looking to go down this route - game arrives tomorrow i hope so will give it a go

    Doc

  2. #22
    First Lieutenant Guibod's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDeus VultFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIISemper Fi
    Europa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Grenoble, France
    Posts
    296
    I managed to get it to work ! Here are some screenies, as you can see the EU3*border bug exist also inside HOI3. I tested all three OffscreenRenderingMode values :
    - "backbuffer" has border issues
    - "pbuffer" made the game to crash while loading «processing flag»
    - "fbo" has border issues and is smoothlier than «backbuffer»

    Sound is working, music also. The game speed match windows XP (without intensive playing).
    I run ubuntu jaunty x64, wine 1.1.27 on a Athlon 4200+ with a radeon HD*4770.

    Last edited by Guibod; 21-08-2009 at 00:01.

  3. #23
    First Lieutenant Guibod's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIDeus VultFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIISemper Fi
    Europa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Grenoble, France
    Posts
    296
    The border bug is a regression one : see wine bugzilla.

    There's a patch. Gosam from the forum tested it successfully.

    EDIT:*Wine 1.1.28 will likely correct the bug. There's no release date planned yet.
    Last edited by Guibod; 21-08-2009 at 00:59.

  4. #24
    Sergeant Med1980's Avatar
    200k clubHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IICommander: Conquest of the AmericasDeus Vult
    Divine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In Nomine
    Majesty 2EU3 Napoleon's AmbitionVictoria: RevolutionsEuropa Universalis: RomeSemper Fi
    SengokuSupreme Ruler 2020 GoldVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedRome: Vae Victis
    CK2: Holy KnightEU3 Collectors Edition500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Provincia
    Posts
    76
    Talking about linux. Will there be a port for Macs? Because if the port is correctly made, a linux version should not be much more complicated than a simple recompile. I guess the port to OpenGL is the toughest part. I cannot tell how much i would love to see a port to linux. I never got anti-aliasing to work for directx games with wine, and it also gets a performance hit. I am sad to see that most games ported to linux are FPS/action. I keep a copy of 7 just to play PI games.

  5. #25
    Quote Originally Posted by Guibod View Post
    I managed to get it to work ! Here are some screenies, as you can see the EU3*border bug exist also inside HOI3. I tested all three OffscreenRenderingMode values :
    - "backbuffer" has border issues
    - "pbuffer" made the game to crash while loading «processing flag»
    - "fbo" has border issues and is smoothlier than «backbuffer»

    Sound is working, music also. The game speed match windows XP (without intensive playing).
    I run ubuntu jaunty x64, wine 1.1.27 on a Athlon 4200+ with a radeon HD*4770.
    congrats - great news for us linux users

    what exactly did you do in wine to get this to work

    is there a howto somewhere that you can link too?

    thanks

    i have a new install of ubuntu and have been using winetricks to get Civ4BTS set up - maybe it will work without further tweaks - lets hope the postman is early tomorrow



    doc

  6. #26
    Finally, I can post here :O But still cannot create new threads.

    Okay, I'm the guy currently maintaining HOI3 in the AppDB. As soon I may create threads here (my own HoI3 copy arrives mid of next week), I will create a thread similar to the EU3 one. If someone else feels like he could do this faster, feel free to do so. BTW: Maintaining HoI3 in the AppDB is volunteer work, so everyone may become app maintainer and help this great game to finally reach platinum state.

    Cheers,
    Daniel

    EDIT: Doctoxic, link would be http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManage...sion&iId=17439
    There is a HOWTO just before the comments start...

  7. #27
    the Conqueror Peter Ebbesen's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIImpireEuropa Universalis III: In NomineKing Arthur IIThe Kings Crusade
    Majesty 2EU3 Napoleon's AmbitionEuropa Universalis: RomeSword of the Stars IIVictoria 2
    Rome: Vae VictisMount & Blade: WarbandWarlock: Master of the ArcaneV2 BetaHoi 2 Beta
    EU3 Collectors Edition500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Beyond the infinite
    Posts
    15,109
    Quote Originally Posted by Med1980 View Post
    Talking about linux. Will there be a port for Macs?
    Paradox does not port its internally developed games to any other platform than the PC. Presumably the projected market for for people who would buy Linux or Mac implementations and not buy a PC implementation is too small to make the considerable extra work and testing worth it, not to mention the extra hardware and skillset needed spread over the small team.

    Any porting is done externally. I guess that Virtual Programming Ltd is in charge of the mac ports or related to whomever might be - they certainly seem to be in charge of the publishing.
    Finally got around to writing a list of my AARs in the inkwell.
    For those interested in Dominions 4 (SP or MP), we organize the Wrinkletoes games and answer general questions related to the game in this thread.
    Current ongoing Wrinkletoes 3 Dom4 game's list of players: linky.

  8. #28
    Thanks to everyone who worked on testing and setting this up under Linux. I'm anxious to try it out when binaries of 1.1.28 are released.

  9. #29
    I think it's very unlikely there will be any port to Mac or Linux. If you start to make a game using .NET there is no easy way to change this back. You can't create a DirectX application and simply replace it by OpenGL. After all we should be glad there is WINE and Paradox seems to care to make it compatible.

    EDIT: As there is a MAC port for EU3 I eat my words and claim the opposite.
    Last edited by Irrlicht; 21-08-2009 at 10:46.

  10. #30
    Sergeant Med1980's Avatar
    200k clubHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IICommander: Conquest of the AmericasDeus Vult
    Divine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In Nomine
    Majesty 2EU3 Napoleon's AmbitionVictoria: RevolutionsEuropa Universalis: RomeSemper Fi
    SengokuSupreme Ruler 2020 GoldVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedRome: Vae Victis
    CK2: Holy KnightEU3 Collectors Edition500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Provincia
    Posts
    76
    Quote Originally Posted by Irrlicht View Post
    I think it's very unlikely there will be any port to Mac or Linux. If you start to make a game using .NET there is no easy way to change this back. You can't create a DirectX application and simply replace it by OpenGL. After all we should be glad there is WINE and Paradox seems to care to make it compatible.

    EDIT: As there is a MAC port for EU3 I eat my words and claim the opposite.
    Well, i did not say it was easy. But if there is a mac port the bulk of the work is already done. For the .NET stuff, i think it is only for the launcher. Maybe mono could help here. I think the rest of HOI3 is just C++ and Lua, correct me if i am mistaken.

    Otherwise of course i am glad it works under wine but that's far from being an ideal or easy solution.

  11. #31
    Newbie Demi Moderator Gaute65's Avatar
    200k clubCities in Motion 2Crusader Kings IIDeus VultDiplomacy
    EU3 CompleteDivine WindHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the ThroneRome Gold
    SengokuVictoria 2CK2: Holy KnightEU3 Collectors Edition500k club
    Europa Universalis IV: Pre-orderEUIV: Call to arms eventEUIV: Wealth of NationsEUIV: Conquest of ParadiseEUIV: Res Publica
    Crusader Kings II: Legacy of RomeCrusader Kings II: Sword of IslamCrusader Kings II: Sunset InvasionCrusader Kings II: The RepublicCrusader Kings II: The Old Gods
    Crusader Kings II: Sons of AbrahamCrusader Kings II: Rajas of IndiaCrusader Kings II: Charlemagne

    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Mombot Road 103, Norway
    Posts
    4,374
    1.1.28 has fixed the border issue.

    The game doesn't start with pbuffer.

    Works with fbo.

    Howto
    http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManage...estingId=43580
    Paradox Linux User Group

    Age, catamite- fac mihi hunc diem felicissimum.

  12. #32
    deleted due to me doing a dumb thing when trying the linux install
    Last edited by Doctoxic; 23-08-2009 at 20:41.

  13. #33
    Quote Originally Posted by Irrlicht View Post
    Finally, I can post here :O But still cannot create new threads.

    Okay, I'm the guy currently maintaining HOI3 in the AppDB. As soon I may create threads here (my own HoI3 copy arrives mid of next week), I will create a thread similar to the EU3 one. If someone else feels like he could do this faster, feel free to do so. BTW: Maintaining HoI3 in the AppDB is volunteer work, so everyone may become app maintainer and help this great game to finally reach platinum state.

    Cheers,
    Daniel

    EDIT: Doctoxic, link would be http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManage...sion&iId=17439
    There is a HOWTO just before the comments start...
    thanks for the link Irrlicht

    doc

  14. #34
    Quote Originally Posted by Gaute65 View Post
    1.1.28 has fixed the border issue.
    You were faster Thanks!
    HOI3 on Linux: WINE AppDB | HOI3 on Linux HowTO | Linux Discussion Thread
    „Was interessiert mich mein Geschwätz von gestern.“ Konrad Adenauer

  15. #35
    Major gosam's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourEuropa Universalis III: In Nomine
    EU3 Napoleon's AmbitionVictoria: RevolutionsSemper FiVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided
    Victoria II: Heart of DarknessEU3 Collectors Edition500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Rabat, Morocco
    Posts
    614
    One point must be cleared : when installing dotnet and vcrun through winetricks, set the windows version to win2k beforehand (with winecfg). It'll clear the missing manifest errors.
    Last edited by gosam; 23-08-2009 at 23:51.
    Join the The Order of the Paradox , a Cybernations alliance.

    Running Victoria 2:HoD and HoI3:TFH with wine on Debian sid.

    my first aar : Transvaal, the united african republic.

  16. #36
    I'd be overjoyed if I could run HoI3 to an almost similar level on Linux (Linux Mint 7 'Gloria' here). Or better yet, a port!

  17. #37
    Quote Originally Posted by gosam View Post
    One point must be cleared : when installing dotnet and vcrun through winetricks, set the windows version to win2k beforehand (with regedit). It'll clear the missing manifest errors.
    hi

    how do you do this?
    i know how to use regrdit and find keys etc - just don;t know where to look to do this



    actually, thinking about it, can't you do this in winecfg as well?

    thanks

    doc

  18. #38
    HI

    When i try and install dotnet through winetricks i get this error:

    sha1sum mismatch! Rename /home/doctoxic/.winetrickscache/dotnet20/dotnetfx.exe and try again.

    but rename it to what, there is a file called that already? i think this is to do with me already having dotnet 1.1 installed?? I seem to remember trying to install dotnet2 for some other game and it wouldn't let me because 1.1 was already installed.

    Doc

  19. #39
    Major gosam's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourEuropa Universalis III: In Nomine
    EU3 Napoleon's AmbitionVictoria: RevolutionsSemper FiVictoria 2Victoria II: A House Divided
    Victoria II: Heart of DarknessEU3 Collectors Edition500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Rabat, Morocco
    Posts
    614
    I think deleting the file or renaming it will work. The important is that there's no file with that name.

    Edit : I meant to type in winecfg instead of regedit.
    Join the The Order of the Paradox , a Cybernations alliance.

    Running Victoria 2:HoD and HoI3:TFH with wine on Debian sid.

    my first aar : Transvaal, the united african republic.

  20. #40
    Newbie Demi Moderator Gaute65's Avatar
    200k clubCities in Motion 2Crusader Kings IIDeus VultDiplomacy
    EU3 CompleteDivine WindHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the ThroneRome Gold
    SengokuVictoria 2CK2: Holy KnightEU3 Collectors Edition500k club
    Europa Universalis IV: Pre-orderEUIV: Call to arms eventEUIV: Wealth of NationsEUIV: Conquest of ParadiseEUIV: Res Publica
    Crusader Kings II: Legacy of RomeCrusader Kings II: Sword of IslamCrusader Kings II: Sunset InvasionCrusader Kings II: The RepublicCrusader Kings II: The Old Gods
    Crusader Kings II: Sons of AbrahamCrusader Kings II: Rajas of IndiaCrusader Kings II: Charlemagne

    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Mombot Road 103, Norway
    Posts
    4,374
    I've used Playonlinux, it's a graphical frontend for wine. I think it's easier to use than just use Wine.

    If you have a ati card, see this wiki how to install the latest ati driver.
    Paradox Linux User Group

    Age, catamite- fac mihi hunc diem felicissimum.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts