+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: How to Merge units and how big?

  1. #1

    How to Merge units and how big?

    How many tank divisions can I merge together into an Army and fight 'efficiently? If I add three together the number turns red.

    Also how many divisions can I attack with from one province before they fight 'ineffectively'? And what is the easiest way to separate tank division out of their Corp and create a new Corps and Tank armies out of them?

    This is my first time playing and I am confused. Thanks for your help everyone

  2. #2
    Sergeant sagajagan's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis 3EU3 CompleteHeir to the ThroneVictoria: Revolutions
    Supreme Ruler 2020 GoldVictoria 2

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    British Empire
    Posts
    79
    If it's red then I think the leader isn't a high enough rank. mj. general can command 1 divison, lt. general can command 3, general can command 9 and field marshal can command 12 without stacking penalties. Click his picture and choose another leader or promote him.

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by sagajagan
    If it's red then I think the leader isn't a high enough rank. mj. general can command 1 divison, lt. general can command 3, general can command 9 and field marshal can command 12 without stacking penalties. Click his picture and choose another leader or promote him.
    Thanks that answered half my questions!!

    So how many divisions is too many to attack with?

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by animul1111
    Thanks that answered half my questions!!

    So how many divisions is too many to attack with?
    I am still having trouble getting the divisions in the armies as I want them. I don't understand how to add one division to an army?

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by animul1111
    I am still having trouble getting the divisions in the armies as I want them. I don't understand how to add one division to an army?
    The divisions have to be in the same province. Drag a box around all of the divisions in the province; hold the shift key and left click units you do NOT want in the army, then click on the merge button on the bottom left of the screen.

    Here is the wiki article on Leader Command Capacity

    http://www.paradoxian.org/hoi2wiki/i....25_penalty.29

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by sbr
    The divisions have to be in the same province. Drag a box around all of the divisions in the province; hold the shift key and left click units you do NOT want in the army, then click on the merge button on the bottom left of the screen.

    Here is the wiki article on Leader Command Capacity

    http://www.paradoxian.org/hoi2wiki/i....25_penalty.29
    Thanks for the link ..this really helps

  7. #7
    General Pugmak's Avatar
    HoI AnthologyArsenal of DemocracyCities in MotionCrusader Kings IICommander: Conquest of the Americas
    Darkest HourDeus VultEast India Company CollectionEuropa Universalis 3EU3 Complete
    Divine WindFor The GloryFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest Hour
    Heir to the ThroneLead and GoldMagickaMajesty 2EU3 Napoleon's Ambition
    Penumbra - Black PlaguePirates of Black CoveVictoria: RevolutionsRome GoldSemper Fi
    SengokuShip Simulator ExtremesSword of the Stars IISupreme Ruler: Cold WarVictoria 2
    Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessRome: Vae VictisPride of NationsRise of Prussia
    500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-orderEUIV: Wealth of NationsEUIV: Conquest of Paradise

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Where I'm at.
    Posts
    2,411
    In case you haven't figured it out yet...

    To merge air units, have the units you want merged at the same airport. Click on one, then hold down shift and drag a box around it. That lassos the air units so you can merge em. If you just click and drag, you'll get any land units in the province but no air units.
    Survival tip #72: If it has eyes in the back of its head, don't try to sneak up on it from behind.

    Will my infantry move faster if I defrag my hard drive?

    The knack to effective leadership: Do not give orders that can be understood. Do give orders that can not be misunderstood.

  8. #8
    hmm, I allways attack with a lot of troopes, my record was 400 vs 150
    I lost the battle because it was winter and they would have been pushed back after they would have reached the prov anyway, but I managed to distroy around 30 ger divs and make 50 of them have less than 20STR


    in short, Koneiv handeled 35 times more troops than he could handle very well

  9. #9
    Figting effectively with commanders: 1, 3, 9, and 12 and that doubles with every HQ under a General or Field Marshal. But in short you can stack as high as you want especially if your the SU, have hundreds of divisions rushing against around 20 or less German and Axis units.

    But I like to merge units of three (Infantry x 3, Armoured x2 + 1 Motorized/Mech, etc.) and form under an HQ commanded by a General and or Field Marshal and use the corps of three units to attack as if in an army group; therefor I can have 18+ divisions attacking the enemy without penalties.

  10. #10
    GroFAZ Demi Moderator blue emu's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis 3Hearts of Iron IIIHearts of Iron III CollectionHeir to the Throne
    Europa Universalis: RomeHoi 2 Beta500k club

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Oromocto N.B. Canada
    Posts
    16,808
    Quote Originally Posted by Solferino
    Figting effectively with commanders: 1, 3, 9, and 12 and that doubles with every HQ under a General or Field Marshal. But in short you can stack as high as you want especially if your the SU, have hundreds of divisions rushing against around 20 or less German and Axis units.
    Command Limits are only doubled once, regardless of the number of adjacent HQs.
    "To punish me for my contempt for authority, they made me an authority myself" - Albert Einstein

    My Demi-Mod color is GOLD. If I'm posting in this color, I'm not just being a jerk. I use WHITE for that.

    "The Game"... my first AAR. Armageddon v1.2 Mod-34, Germany.
    Winner, Q2-2008 HOI-2 Comedy Award.
    Winner, 2008 Iron HeAARt Award for the best HOI-2 AAR of 2008.
    Autocrat of Earth in the Forum Game "Ad Astra"
    Welcome to BloodCarnage... Hope you like snakes! - A Dwarf Fortress succession game.

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by blue emu
    Command Limits are only doubled once, regardless of the number of adjacent HQs.
    Thanks for that info, I thought it doubled with every HQ.

    You do indeed learn something new every day!

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by Solferino
    Thanks for that info, I thought it doubled with every HQ.

    You do indeed learn something new every day!
    So now I have still another question. I sent a german expeditionary force to spain for the civil war which is now over. But I can't see how to bring my armored forces back home? How do i do it?

  13. #13
    GroFAZ Demi Moderator blue emu's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis 3Hearts of Iron IIIHearts of Iron III CollectionHeir to the Throne
    Europa Universalis: RomeHoi 2 Beta500k club

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Oromocto N.B. Canada
    Posts
    16,808
    How did you "send" it to them? If you sold it to them in the Diplomacy screen... it's not YOUR Armored force any more. It belongs to THEM.
    "To punish me for my contempt for authority, they made me an authority myself" - Albert Einstein

    My Demi-Mod color is GOLD. If I'm posting in this color, I'm not just being a jerk. I use WHITE for that.

    "The Game"... my first AAR. Armageddon v1.2 Mod-34, Germany.
    Winner, Q2-2008 HOI-2 Comedy Award.
    Winner, 2008 Iron HeAARt Award for the best HOI-2 AAR of 2008.
    Autocrat of Earth in the Forum Game "Ad Astra"
    Welcome to BloodCarnage... Hope you like snakes! - A Dwarf Fortress succession game.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts