+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Screenshots with Vista... Where do they go???

  1. #1
    Captain Javaslinger's Avatar
    Hearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIDeus VultEuropa Universalis 3Divine Wind
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In NomineEU3 Napoleon's Ambition
    Europa Universalis: RomeSemper FiRome: Vae Victis

    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Blacksburg, VA
    Posts
    455

    Screenshots with Vista... Where do they go???

    I apologize, I did try to search the forums, but all I could find was vague references that they 'went somewhere else' other than the typical screenshots folder.

    I can't find them...

    Help please,

    Javasligner

  2. #2
    Captain Javaslinger's Avatar
    Hearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIDeus VultEuropa Universalis 3Divine Wind
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In NomineEU3 Napoleon's Ambition
    Europa Universalis: RomeSemper FiRome: Vae Victis

    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Blacksburg, VA
    Posts
    455
    Come on...someone must know this....

    'Elp!

    Javaslinger

  3. #3
    If it works like Rome, same engine and all, they should go into the Screenshots folder unless you installed it into the default \program files\ directory and have UAC enabled, in which case they will probably be buried in your \(account)\app data\eu folder.

    Theoretically.

    Me.

  4. #4
    Captain Javaslinger's Avatar
    Hearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIDeus VultEuropa Universalis 3Divine Wind
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In NomineEU3 Napoleon's Ambition
    Europa Universalis: RomeSemper FiRome: Vae Victis

    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Blacksburg, VA
    Posts
    455
    Thanks, but there is definately no screenshots folder.

    It is Vista, so I don't know where the account stuff is like in XP. I could be there, but where is there....

    Javaslinger

  5. #5
    Major DSwann's Avatar
    Arsenal of DemocracyCrusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis: ChroniclesEU3 CompleteDivine Wind
    For The GloryHeir to the ThroneVictoria: RevolutionsVictoria 2Europa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Madison,AL
    Posts
    786
    You have to take a few before the folder appears I think but with UAC on this is where mine is:

    "C:\Users\xxxx\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Prog ram Files (x86)\Paradox Interactive\Europa Universalis III\Screenshots"

    Make a shortcut to this folder on your desktop, its easier to find.

  6. #6
    General DPS's Avatar
    Deus VultEuropa Universalis III: In NomineEU3 Napoleon's AmbitionEuropa Universalis: Rome

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Goldsboro, NC
    Posts
    2,096
    I have Vista, and there is definately a screenshots subfolder in the EUIII folder on my computer.
    Currently playing:
    EUIII (IN)
    CK (DV)
    EU:Rome

    "The Assyrian program of exterminating various ethnic groups generally failed to promote cultural diversity."

    "...we must also hope...that history will have compassion in judging our mistakes, and for that reason we must try not to judge too harshly the mistakes of the generation before us." Bill James

  7. #7
    Captain Javaslinger's Avatar
    Hearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIDeus VultEuropa Universalis 3Divine Wind
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In NomineEU3 Napoleon's Ambition
    Europa Universalis: RomeSemper FiRome: Vae Victis

    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Blacksburg, VA
    Posts
    455
    I found it... damn hidden folders!

    Anyway, mine was in the User account folder as described above buried deep...

    Thanks,

    javaslinger

  8. #8
    Magrathean Engineer Haftetavenscrap's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis 3Divine WindHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the Throne
    Europa Universalis III: In NomineEU3 Napoleon's AmbitionRome GoldSword of the StarsSword of the Stars II
    Victoria 2Rome: Vae VictisEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    5,181
    Blog Entries
    1
    Turn off User Account Control. It causes all of these problems.
    Try Haftetavenscrap's Realistic Map Generator!
    Explore, colonize and conquer a world you've never seen before!
    Much more intricate and realistic maps than Conquest of Paradise

    Get it HERE!

  9. #9
    Major DSwann's Avatar
    Arsenal of DemocracyCrusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis: ChroniclesEU3 CompleteDivine Wind
    For The GloryHeir to the ThroneVictoria: RevolutionsVictoria 2Europa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Madison,AL
    Posts
    786
    Quote Originally Posted by Haftetavenscrap
    Turn off User Account Control. It causes all of these problems.
    UAC is not the problem, it is a very worthwhile feature. It is legacy programs not adopting to Vista's file structure causing problems. It has more to do with EUIII being the problem

    http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/5538

  10. #10
    Magrathean Engineer Haftetavenscrap's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis 3Divine WindHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the Throne
    Europa Universalis III: In NomineEU3 Napoleon's AmbitionRome GoldSword of the StarsSword of the Stars II
    Victoria 2Rome: Vae VictisEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    5,181
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by DSwann
    UAC is not the problem, it is a very worthwhile feature. It is legacy programs not adopting to Vista's file structure causing problems. It has more to do with EUIII being the problem

    http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/5538
    When I got my computer, I had countless problems doing anything or finding anything. As soon as I turned off UAC, I stopped having problems. And I can't think of any reason why it could be considered a worthwhile feature. What do you find useful about it?
    And it has nothing to do with EUIII since all my files are saved in the right places (i.e. Program Files). I learned from another thread that UAC is what causes Program Files to be locked and saves files in some random other folder.
    Try Haftetavenscrap's Realistic Map Generator!
    Explore, colonize and conquer a world you've never seen before!
    Much more intricate and realistic maps than Conquest of Paradise

    Get it HERE!

  11. #11
    I'm having the same problem with Vista. But there's no AppData folder in my user folder.

    If this is a hidden folder, how do I get to see it. I really want to see the screenshot of my first game I just finished...

  12. #12
    User moved to other account DCP11OC's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    EU3 Province #236
    Posts
    217
    Quote Originally Posted by Rhyfelwyr
    I'm having the same problem with Vista. But there's no AppData folder in my user folder.

    If this is a hidden folder, how do I get to see it. I really want to see the screenshot of my first game I just finished...
    Click Start (circle thing)
    Control Panel
    Folder Options
    Click View (tab)
    Click circle Show hidden files and folders.

    Then the AppData comes up

  13. #13
    Sergeant 09camaro's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteDivine WindHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the Throne
    Victoria 2

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    in a cardboard under the stairs in the basement of a house half a block down the street from jerry's bait shop
    Posts
    66
    i have made all hidden folders available to viewing. still not there... what is wrong?

  14. #14
    Second Lieutenant Albanach's Avatar
    Europa Universalis 3EU3 CompleteDivine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron III
    HOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis: RomeSemper FiRome: Vae Victis

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    122
    Just go into the EU3 folder and click the "Compatibility Files" button on the toolbar and you'll see the screenshots folder.

  15. #15
    Sergeant 09camaro's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteDivine WindHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the Throne
    Victoria 2

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    in a cardboard under the stairs in the basement of a house half a block down the street from jerry's bait shop
    Posts
    66
    thank you

  16. #16
    General truth is life's Avatar
    Arsenal of DemocracyHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIDeus VultEuropa Universalis 3
    Divine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the Throne
    Europa Universalis III: In NomineEU3 Napoleon's AmbitionVictoria: RevolutionsEuropa Universalis: RomeSemper Fi
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessRome: Vae VictisMount & Blade: Warband
    Europa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    1,822
    Quote Originally Posted by Haftetavenscrap
    When I got my computer, I had countless problems doing anything or finding anything. As soon as I turned off UAC, I stopped having problems. And I can't think of any reason why it could be considered a worthwhile feature. What do you find useful about it?
    And it has nothing to do with EUIII since all my files are saved in the right places (i.e. Program Files). I learned from another thread that UAC is what causes Program Files to be locked and saves files in some random other folder.
    It's very useful if you are not an institution and you regularly operate as an ordinary user (in the *nix manner). In that case you get the benefit of a degree of sandboxing (it's harder for exploit code to function since it needs to find a privilege escalation bug or convince you to run it as an admin before it can do very much except bug you; if you run the 'ordinary' way any code can do anything it likes as soon as you run it, no matter what) while still being able to run programs as an admin if necessary. It functions much like the 'su' command in Linux. I used it in precicesly this manner for some time and was very happy with it (I ended up migrating back to XP for unrelated reasons). You just need to change how you do things slightly and understand the purpose of UAC; since doing so is not much less convenient and increases security a fair deal, I see it as a good tradeoff.

    And games aren't supposed to put save games, screenshots and the like in the Program Files folder; what they should do is put them in My Games/WhateverTheGameIs. That way, each user can have his or her own save games and what not, the program does not need administrator privileges to merely save data, and in general the usefulness and security is improved. Just because Paradox and most other game makers prior to the last couple of years chose to ignore that doesn't mean they should have, or that it's a good thing. Actually, I find the way Vista handles it to be perfectly reasonable, given the circumstances. It's basically tricking the offending programs to think they are screwing around in Program Files when they're not, and don't have to. They could certainly do with putting it in a more obvious place, though.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts