+ Reply to Thread
Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 LastLast
Results 81 to 100 of 114

Thread: Gotikiller's Pop Splitter 5.5 (Updated by Dietmar1982 27 May 08)

  1. #81
    Number 38732 Dietmar1982's Avatar
    Hearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonDivine WindHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In Nomine
    EU3 Napoleon's AmbitionVictoria: RevolutionsEuropa Universalis: RomeSemper FiVictoria 2
    Victoria II: A House DividedRome: Vae Victis

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    "Lorteřen"
    Posts
    722
    Forgot to mention

    I'm very sorry
    Gotikiller's Pop Splitter v 5.5 (Updated by Dietmar1982) - Download: Mediafire! and wiki
    Details about the splitter

  2. #82
    Victoria's Plastic Surgeon OHgamer's Avatar
    EU3 CompleteHearts of Iron IIIVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness
    V2 BetaHoi 2 BetaEU3 Collectors EditionEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    In Columbus OH, but dreaming of the White Isle.....
    Posts
    17,646
    Quote Originally Posted by Dietmar1982
    Forgot to mention

    I'm very sorry
    Don't feel bad, these things happen, modders are human and we all make errors that, once in a while, we do not catch until after release. Important thing is to fix them once they are discovered, which is what you've done.

    Updated thread title to reflect latest version.
    2014 will hopefully allow me to be more active with Paradox games than the last few years

  3. #83
    Generalfeldmarschall RELee's Avatar
    200k clubHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIDeus VultEuropa Universalis 3
    EU3 CompleteDivine WindFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest Hour
    Heir to the ThroneVictoria: RevolutionsRome GoldSemper FiSword of the Stars
    Sword of the Stars IIVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessV2 Beta
    V2 AHD BetaPride of NationsRise of Prussia500k clubEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Bible-belt buckle
    Posts
    6,108
    Blog Entries
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by Dietmar1982
    Forgot to mention

    I'm very sorry
    A wise man once told me, "If you never make a mistake, then you must not be working."

    You have nothing to be sorry about. Excellent work! Good save!
    I'm a 19th century man inflicting himself upon a 21st century world.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "Unbelievers always want other people to act like Christians." - Ender's Shadow by Orson Scott Card
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Perfected by the sixteen men of Tain.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Phishing link to HOI4 site removed.

  4. #84
    So what would be the syntax to exclude a list of provinces from the conversion? I can see syntax to exclude a single province.

  5. #85
    User #8915 Ladislav's Avatar
    200k clubCrusader Kings II

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Hibernia
    Posts
    2,205
    Quote Originally Posted by OHgamer
    And folks I can highly recommend this. Dietmar1982 is one of the VIP Beta Testers, and his retweaking of this application to improve its functionality came as a result of our hope that it can be used by players of VIP, as the AI is very loathe to break up its larger POPs and this helps improve AI performance (especially in economic areas) quite noticeably.
    .
    so is the vanilla AI reluctant to split POPs. Does it ever do so? Im playing a little AAR where I dont split the POPs at all. Have clicked the split button maybe 3 times to create smaller capi POPs. Am I puttingmyself at a disadvantage vis-a-vis AI? Or am I evening out the playing field instead?

    I do like to play this way though since its less micromanaging and those factories do get staffed by internal migrants

  6. #86
    Number 38732 Dietmar1982's Avatar
    Hearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonDivine WindHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In Nomine
    EU3 Napoleon's AmbitionVictoria: RevolutionsEuropa Universalis: RomeSemper FiVictoria 2
    Victoria II: A House DividedRome: Vae Victis

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    "Lorteřen"
    Posts
    722
    Quote Originally Posted by Iron Marshal
    So what would be the syntax to exclude a list of provinces from the conversion? I can see syntax to exclude a single province.
    In the remove section you simply write all the provinces you want excluded, seperated by a space.
    so it looks something like this

    REMOVE="212 213 214"
    Gotikiller's Pop Splitter v 5.5 (Updated by Dietmar1982) - Download: Mediafire! and wiki
    Details about the splitter

  7. #87
    Sergeant Bombinator's Avatar
    Darkest HourDivine WindHearts of Iron IIIEuropa Universalis III: In NomineEU3 Napoleon's Ambition
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessEU3 Collectors Edition500k club
    Europa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Arlington VA
    Posts
    99
    So this is going to make me sound really dumb. I can't find the savegame file in the file folder in the scenario folder. Am I just not looking in the right place or is it something else.

    BTW: I'm running Windows Vista x64, Victoria+Revolutions+VIP, all updated to current

  8. #88
    User moved to another account jonesy1289's Avatar
    Victoria: Revolutions

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    836
    When you have Vista it is HIGHLY recommended that you create a new folder for your games. For instance, create the folder so that the directory is: "C:\Games", and then put your games in there.

    Until you do that, Vista will move your savegames to:

    C:\Users\<your_account>\AppData\Local\VirtualStore \Program Files

    From the "...\Program Files" folder follow your usual directory for the game, and your savegames should be in there.

    If you do not wish to move your installation to a new folder then I'd recommend creating a shortcut named "savegames" (in your normal directory for the "savegames" folder, i.e. "...\scenarios\") which is linked to that directory, given above, where your savegames are actually being stored. This will allow access to the savegame files without having to move your installation to a different folder.
    Last edited by jonesy1289; 17-12-2008 at 21:00.

  9. #89
    Wow I had never heard of that. I should probably get on with making that games folder now. Great tip.

  10. #90
    User moved to another account jonesy1289's Avatar
    Victoria: Revolutions

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    836
    Yeah Red Jacket helped me find that one out (I couldn't find my savegames)... so it is really down to him. I can see myself quoting that post a few more times though haha! Vista is a bit weird!

  11. #91
    You should put it in your sig. Perhaps the Victoria forum can start a trend of useful and educational signatures to help raise interest and knowledge of the game.

  12. #92
    User moved to another account jonesy1289's Avatar
    Victoria: Revolutions

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    836
    Yeah might not be a bad idea, I guess?? Think it might also apply to other Paradox games on Vista??

  13. #93
    I have no idea, but it would definitely be relevant for other Paradox games. Education, in addition to entertainment, I would say is the main reason that drives people to come to these forums.

  14. #94
    Sergeant Bombinator's Avatar
    Darkest HourDivine WindHearts of Iron IIIEuropa Universalis III: In NomineEU3 Napoleon's Ambition
    Victoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of DarknessEU3 Collectors Edition500k club
    Europa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Arlington VA
    Posts
    99
    Quote Originally Posted by jonesy1289 View Post
    When you have Vista it is HIGHLY recommended that you create a new folder for your games. For instance, create the folder so that the directory is: "C:\Games", and then put your games in there.

    Until you do that, Vista will move your savegames to:

    C:\Users\<your_account>\AppData\Local\VirtualStore \Program Files

    From the "...\Program Files" folder follow your usual directory for the game, and your savegames should be in there.

    If you do not wish to move your installation to a new folder then I'd recommend creating a shortcut named "savegames" (in your normal directory for the "savegames" folder, i.e. "...\scenarios\") which is linked to that directory, given above, where your savegames are actually being stored. This will allow access to the savegame files without having to move your installation to a different folder.
    Thanks, found it. My game is running fine as it is and I have no intention of not using VIP so I really have no need to create two copies

  15. #95
    I am also having problems with save games (I know this is not the thread but seeing as it has been mentioned here).

    I have two copies of Victoria installed, vanilla and VIP. Vanilla is saving to the regular savegame directory in the scenaro folder. But in VIP the savegame directory is empty, even though I have more save games than vanilla. Virtual store directry doesnt exist. Any idea where my save games are? I tried searching for them but have not found them!
    The Victoria Tutorial - Comprehensive guide for beginners - http://forum.paradoxplaza.com/forum/...58#post9168158

  16. #96
    Victoria's Plastic Surgeon OHgamer's Avatar
    EU3 CompleteHearts of Iron IIIVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness
    V2 BetaHoi 2 BetaEU3 Collectors EditionEuropa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    In Columbus OH, but dreaming of the White Isle.....
    Posts
    17,646
    Quote Originally Posted by Lord_Richmond View Post
    I am also having problems with save games (I know this is not the thread but seeing as it has been mentioned here).

    I have two copies of Victoria installed, vanilla and VIP. Vanilla is saving to the regular savegame directory in the scenaro folder. But in VIP the savegame directory is empty, even though I have more save games than vanilla. Virtual store directry doesnt exist. Any idea where my save games are? I tried searching for them but have not found them!
    do you have VIP in a separate desktop folder??

    It *should* save the games to desktop/vip (or whatever you call the victoria folder)/scenarios/savegames
    2014 will hopefully allow me to be more active with Paradox games than the last few years

  17. #97
    User moved to another account jonesy1289's Avatar
    Victoria: Revolutions

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    836
    Quote Originally Posted by Lord_Richmond View Post
    I am also having problems with save games (I know this is not the thread but seeing as it has been mentioned here).

    I have two copies of Victoria installed, vanilla and VIP. Vanilla is saving to the regular savegame directory in the scenaro folder. But in VIP the savegame directory is empty, even though I have more save games than vanilla. Virtual store directry doesnt exist. Any idea where my save games are? I tried searching for them but have not found them!
    If you're using Vista, then see my sig.

  18. #98
    Captain Gotikiller's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis 3EU3 Napoleon's Ambition

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    483
    Nice to see the work you have done Dietmar.

    If I ever get bored one of these days I might take what you have done and rewrite it in a different language than C#.

    It is good to see that the community is still alive =).

    If only paradox would release the source and not trying to squeeze more money out of the community through their closed source gamersgate strategy...

    One would think since they are no longer supporting multiplayer for V:R they would let it go
    /end pointless aside (if admin wants me to remove this I will)

    *sigh*
    An American from the East Side.

    1 Clerk
    Nationality: Carpathian/Polish/Lithuanian (aka American =p )
    Religion: Jewish
    Ideology: Liberal
    Revoltrisk: 0.0%
    Militancy: 5 (+0.05)
    Counsciousness: 10 (+1.20)

  19. #99
    Number 38732 Dietmar1982's Avatar
    Hearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonDivine WindHearts of Iron IIIHeir to the ThroneEuropa Universalis III: In Nomine
    EU3 Napoleon's AmbitionVictoria: RevolutionsEuropa Universalis: RomeSemper FiVictoria 2
    Victoria II: A House DividedRome: Vae Victis

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    "Lorteřen"
    Posts
    722
    Quote Originally Posted by Gotikiller View Post
    Nice to see the work you have done Dietmar.

    If I ever get bored one of these days I might take what you have done and rewrite it in a different language than C#.

    It is good to see that the community is still alive =).

    If only paradox would release the source and not trying to squeeze more money out of the community through their closed source gamersgate strategy...

    One would think since they are no longer supporting multiplayer for V:R they would let it go
    /end pointless aside (if admin wants me to remove this I will)

    *sigh*
    I've been thinking about doing a c++ edition myself, but at the moment I don't think I'll ever get around to doing it.
    I've just noticed that I've never uploaded the latest source code. I'll see if I can remember it, when i get home from work.
    Gotikiller's Pop Splitter v 5.5 (Updated by Dietmar1982) - Download: Mediafire! and wiki
    Details about the splitter

  20. #100
    Captain Gotikiller's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis 3EU3 Napoleon's Ambition

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    483
    Quote Originally Posted by Dietmar1982 View Post
    I've been thinking about doing a c++ edition myself, but at the moment I don't think I'll ever get around to doing it.
    I've just noticed that I've never uploaded the latest source code. I'll see if I can remember it, when i get home from work.
    I am unsure about doing it in c++. What I was imagining was doing something in Python.
    An American from the East Side.

    1 Clerk
    Nationality: Carpathian/Polish/Lithuanian (aka American =p )
    Religion: Jewish
    Ideology: Liberal
    Revoltrisk: 0.0%
    Militancy: 5 (+0.05)
    Counsciousness: 10 (+1.20)

+ Reply to Thread
Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts