+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Hotkey list

  1. #1
    Second Lieutenant

    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Allen, Texas
    Posts
    130

    Hotkey list

    I looked briefly at the manual (which would be much more useful if there was an index). I also did a search of the HoI2 forum.

    Is there a listing of the hotkeys somewhere? In this instance I'd like to know how to capture a screenshot with HoI2 (it is some function key, I think) and where it is stored. But I think there are other keys as well. Thanks for any help.

  2. #2
    Angel of Death GrimReaper's Avatar
    HoI AnthologyDiplomacyFor the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest Hour
    Naval War: Arctic CircleSemper Fi

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Between Darkness and Death
    Posts
    3,599
    Post #4 in this thread should be a start: http://www.europa-universalis.com/fo...d.php?t=180362

    F11 to take a screenshot. They go into the main HoI2 folder.
    My spambot broke, now I have to write everything myself.

    Do not meddle in the affairs of dragons, for thou art crunchy and go well with ketchup.

    Workers of the world, igni-* err... unite!

  3. #3
    Second Lieutenant

    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Allen, Texas
    Posts
    130
    Thanks!

  4. #4
    the Conqueror Peter Ebbesen's Avatar
    Crusader Kings IIImpireEuropa Universalis III: In NomineKing Arthur IIThe Kings Crusade
    Majesty 2EU3 Napoleon's AmbitionEuropa Universalis: RomeSword of the Stars IIVictoria 2
    Rome: Vae VictisMount & Blade: WarbandWarlock: Master of the ArcaneV2 BetaHoi 2 Beta
    EU3 Collectors Edition500k clubEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Beyond the infinite
    Posts
    15,000
    These are the ones I remember (well, OK, I copied a list from Stonewall and added a few )

    Province Commands
    a = Build AA
    n = Build infrastructure
    i = Build factory
    l = Build land fort
    c = Build coastal fort

    Unit commands
    . = Cycle Through Divisions
    , = Reverse Cycle Through Divisions (',.' are useful for cycling through divisions within the same unit)
    PgUp = Cycle Through Units
    PgDown = Reverse Cycle Through Units (PgUp/PgDown is most useful for a quick tour through all units rather than individual divisions - units on transports are shown hidden in the deepest Africa )
    l = load to ship
    u = unload from ship


    General Commands

    ctrl+ = Speed Up
    ctrl- = Slow Down
    + = Zoom In
    - = Zoom Out
    \ = Find Province/Nation (? instead of \ on some keyboards)
    tab = Chat in MP
    pause = pause
    HOME = Centre on Capital
    F1 = VP and mission standing (in battlescenarios) on main screen
    F6 = Go to the ledger on the last page you viewed
    F10 = Menu
    F11 = Screendump to file ScreenSaveXXX.bmp (does not work in ledger)
    PrtScrn = Screendump to clipboard (does work in ledger, but you'll have to paste it somewhere not to lose it)
    F12 = Open Console and enter commands, trigger events, or cheat outrageously (in SP)
    Confused about how manpower is determined in EU4? Read my Manpower Guide

    Finally got around to writing a list of my AARs in the inkwell.
    For those interested in Dominions 4 (SP or MP), we organize the Wrinkletoes games and answer general questions related to the game in this thread.
    Current ongoing Wrinkletoes 3 Dom4 game's list of players: linky.

  5. #5
    Public Enemy Orthank's Avatar
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIISemper Fi

    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Warsaw
    Posts
    2,310
    Ctrl+Alt+Delete - in case of emergency .
    HoI1 Old Guard
    HoI2 MP Beta
    HoI3 Beginner
    SI VIS PACEM PARA BELLUM 2005
    http://www.ederon.net/

  6. #6
    ctrl+shift = Centre on Capital

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by kyprios
    ctrl+shift = Centre on Capital
    Home key should also work on this.

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by General Ozzy
    Home key should also work on this.
    Yeah, as Peter already said.

  9. #9
    So no hotkeys to change among map modes? I'm pretty sure I remember such a feature from one of Paradox's earlier games.

    Likewise, no hotkeys for each folder (tech, production, etc)?

  10. #10
    You can look up and change some stuff in the "buttons.txt"

    add

    shortcut = YOURKEY

    to the mapmodes.

  11. #11
    Thanks. Hmm, so what text do I need to enter for the "Control" key in combination with a letter key? E.g., I'd like to make the diplomatic map CTL D.

    Also, are there "buttons" for the four basic folders? Don't see them in buttons.txt.

  12. #12
    Captain Bossemanden's Avatar
    Achtung PanzerHearts of Iron 2: ArmageddonCrusader Kings IIEuropa Universalis 3Divine Wind
    For the MotherlandHearts of Iron IIIHOI3: Their Finest HourHeir to the ThroneImpire
    Europa Universalis III: In NomineThe Kings CrusadeLost Empire - ImmortalsMajesty 2EU3 Napoleon's Ambition
    Semper FiSengokuVictoria 2Mount & Blade: WarbandWarlock: Master of the Arcane
    Mount & Blade: With Fire and SwordEuropa Universalis IV: Pre-order

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Posts
    497
    F2 goes to normal map mode (from tech screen etc.)
    Quoting out of context: "during WW2 for example Denmark had a casualty ratio of 1 to 20 000"
    "I'm a born again (tech)tree-hugger!"

  13. #13
    Major
    200k clubCrusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteDivine WindFor the Motherland
    Hearts of Iron IIIHeir to the ThroneRome GoldSemper Fi500k club
    Europa Universalis IV

    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Sthlm, European Union
    Posts
    566
    ctrl+1...9 works just like in any rts game, you assign an army to be automatically selected when you press 1..9. double press to focus on it. i find it convenient to assign mostly stationary units, to be able to quickly focus on any part of the map i like without using the minimap.

    btw, note that the "buttons.txt" key assignments are in ADDITION to any hard coded assignments, so be careful. having the same key switching map mode and upgrading industry may not be what you intended also, they tend to cause strangeness if you're into renaming units...

    anyway i assigned F3 to F5 to toggling between the folders, since F2 is already "show map" and F6 is "statistics".

  14. #14
    I reassigned my F1-F4 keys to match the four main screens from left to right. Now I just need to get ESC to be a shortcut for the main map.
    Sigs? Sigs?!!? - We don't need no steekin' sigs!!

  15. #15
    How would I reassign the pause key to the left side of the keyboard?

    I use the mouse with my right hand and the pause key is also on the right. I would like to put it on the left side of the keyboard-perhaps the q, z or a keys.

  16. #16
    Right now NO shortcut works for PAUSE. That is part of the problem. Some commands can have shortcuts, others can't.
    Sigs? Sigs?!!? - We don't need no steekin' sigs!!

  17. #17
    Paradox Forum Manager Administrator Castellon's Avatar
    90 games registered

    90

    200k club500k club

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    In the Shadows
    Posts
    39,219
    Just use a keyboard remapper, you can find a link to some in the EU2 support forum sticky thread labeled "useful tools and sites"
    I have been dealt a good hand in life, now I am just looking for a few more cards!

  18. #18
    Thanks! It could be very helpful.

  19. #19
    Corporal JTWCBW's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    38
    Does anyone have a running list of ALL known hotkeys? Maybe a link to an updated website so the most current list could be downloaded at any time.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts