• We have updated our Community Code of Conduct. Please read through the new rules for the forum that are an integral part of Paradox Interactive’s User Agreement.

unmerged(245)

Recruit
Aug 22, 2000
Visit site
Hello all, thought I’d write a little a AAR for my Swedish campaign which I recently started.
While it may be a bit foolish to play a Grand campaign as a first campaign, nevertheless, that is exactly what I did.
The setting is Normal/Normal and it is my first campaign in EU, not counting learning the interface with the tutorial. Things have been going rather well imo, I studied Sapura’s AAR from the Baltic campaign so I knew patience was in order. I've made several silly mistakes so far but nothing catastrophic :)

My strategy for the first 50 years was/is this:
1. Denmark is Satan and must be gotten rid of. If something is bad for Denmark, it’s good for me. Patience is a virtue though so I’m going to take them piece by piece as I don’t have a chance to conduct a long war for some time.
2. I don’t want a serious war with anyone else but Denmark. At least not until I have a fleet capable of dominating all other fleets in the Baltic. Keep the Teutons and the Hansa and Russia happy and away.
3. I need allies baby. Almost anyone will do as long as they can do some damage against the Danes.
4. Don’t do anything overly drastic until Gustav Vasa is king.