View RSS Feed

The Rose Desk

The Great Roll Forward - Part 1

Rate this Entry
So, in the Bastion's thread today, I posted about a little conundrum that arose because I've been writing for too long: I finally caught up with the future.

It is something that I have been ignoring for some time now: the steady progress of time. BŠltikjŠ has been underway for three and a half years. One more semester and I get a degree, right? When I started writing this it was 2009. Think about what has changed since then: Obama had just been elected, bin Laden was alive, the regimes in Tunis, Egypt, Libya and Syria looked as stable as rocks, Sudan was a single country, and I was a sophomore at Purdue University.

Things change and they change rather dramatically, almost all at once. I follow the Arab Spring very intently, I love grabbing things to use when writing. The tropes and cliches of real life. In 2010, when Homelands (for whatever reason) didn't die... I began concocting a new time line, starting with the end of EU3 (then still only in IN). Reading my notes I have realized how much of it is in the past. Not just the updates, but important characters who are now figments of the past: their presidencies erased after years of politicing. Prussia would be celebrating twenty years since the end of Communism right now. It would be old news. Like 9/11 which does not grow dimmer in the memories of those there, but fades from the public consciousness. Today, eleven year old children go to school remembering 9/11 as something that is before their time. I might not remember it, but I was alive when the USSR fell apart. And I do remember when the Yugoslav wars flared up and down in the nineties. I remember searching from grandfather's globe for "Yugoslavia". I remember that globe, with all of its weird errors. Most of the African countries were labeled as possessions, there were two Germanies... it makes you think.